Gannett Foundation Award

The Radio Television Digital News Association is teaming with the Gannett Foundation to honor the very best in investigative reporting!
The winner of the 2012 award is Danny Gawlowski and the staff of The Seattle Times including Michael J. Berens, Ken Armstrong, Justin Mayo, James Neff, Katrina Barlow and Genevieve Alvarez were named the winners of this year’s award for the piece,  “Methadone and the Politics of Pain,” which also won a 2012 Pulitzer Prize.


Click here to view the winning entry

This award recognizes groundbreaking work by a journalist or a staff that creatively used digital tools in the role of being a community's watchdog.

Special consideration is given to journalism that helps a community understand and address important issues.

In 2011, Paula Lavigne of ESPN won the award. Her winning entry was ESPN Outside the Lines: What’s Lurking in Your Stadium Food. Click here to view the winning entry from 2011!

Criteria for evaluating innovation include interactivity, creation of new tools, innovative adaptation of existing tools, and creative use of any digital medium. An entry will consist of a single story, series or package on a single subject.

Entry Requirements:

1. Each entry must have appeared between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2011

2. Entry cannot exceed 15 minutes in length.

3. Media must be submitted on the entry application in the form of a URL. Entrants are encouraged to upload their media via YouTube, Vimeo or to their station's website and provide the necessary link on the online application form.

4. Submit a completed online application form. Applications will be accepted beginning Monday, August 27, 2012. The last day to enter is Monday, September 24, 2012. Applications received after this date will not be accepted.


*Winner will receive a $5,000 prize.

*Award will be presented to the individual entrant or news staff listed on the application.

**The winning entrant will be invited to join RTDNA and the 2012 National Edward R. Murrow Award winners at our annual awards dinner and show at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City on Monday, October 8, 2012 to receive the Gannett Foundation prize.

Contest Duration:

Applications will be accepted beginning Monday, August 27, 2012 until Monday, September 24, 2012. Registration is $25 for RTDNA members and $50 for non-members.

For any questions about the award, please email Katie Switchenko at