RTDNA Announces 2012 National Edward R. Murrow Award Winners

For Immediate Release: June 12, 2012
Contact: Ryan Murphy, ryanm@rtdna.org

WASHINGTON – The Radio Television Digital News Association has announced the 2012 National Edward R. Murrow Award winners. The awards honor excellence in electronic journalism.

“Without a doubt, this year’s national competition is one of the best we’ve ever had in the long history of the Edward R. Murrow Awards,” according to Mike Cavender, RTDNA Executive Director.  “Judging by the diversity of the winning entries, it’s clear that great, compelling journalism is very much alive and well at both the network and the local level.”

For the fourth consecutive year, NBC News won the Edward R. Murrow award for Overall Excellence in the network television grouping. NBC News also won National Murrows for Video Newscast and Writing.

In the same television grouping, ABC News earned three Murrow Awards in 2012 – for Video Breaking News Coverage, Video Continuing Coverage and Video Reporting: Hard News.

CBS News took the awards for Video Feature Reporting and Video Investigative Reporting in the network television grouping.

CNBC.com took the award for best network television website. CNBC also won the award for Video News Documentary. CNN won awards for Use of Video and Video News Series while ESPN won for Video Sports Reporting.

In the network radio grouping, CBS Radio News won its sixth consecutive Overall Excellence award and also won for Audio News Series.

For the fourth consecutive year, National Public Radio took home the award for best website in the network radio grouping. WNYC AM/FM won three awards in the same grouping – Writing, Audio Feature Reporting and Use of Sound.
ABC News Radio (Audio Breaking News Coverage & Audio Continuing Coverage) and BBC World Service (Audio News Documentary & Audio Reporting: Hard News) each won two National Murrows this year.

After winning eight National Murrow Awards in 2011, The Associated Press won the Overall Excellence Award in the national online news operation grouping as well as the awards for Investigative Reporting and Video Sports Reporting.

In the same grouping, The Washington Post won three awards (Video Breaking News Coverage, Use of Video and Website.) The New York Times (Video Continuing Coverage), Yahoo! (Video Feature Reporting), GlobalPost (Video News Series) and The Daily Caller (Writing) also won awards in the national online grouping.

After earning nine Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 2012 (the most of any news outlet) The Boston Globe followed in the National Murrow Contest with six wins in the local online news operation grouping, (leading the way in total awards, again.) It won awards for: Use of Video, Video Continuing Coverage, Video Investigative Reporting, Video Reporting: Hard News, Video Sports Reporting and Writing.

“These awards prove that great storytelling and intelligent analysis still go hand-in-hand,” said RTDNA Chairman Kevin Benz. “The Edward R. Murrow Awards are more than a trophy in a case. They are a journalistic model set for all to emulate. Winning a Murrow Award means the community has been well-served, informed, and protected by the organization represented. We honor these winners and we hope their great work will continue to inspire.”

To receive an Overall Excellence award, a news organization must exemplify the absolute highest standards in serving its audience through quality electronic or digital journalism.

Overall Excellence award winners in 2012 are:

•    NBC News (network television)
•    CBS Radio News (network radio)
•    The Associated Press (national online news)
•    WCVB-TV, Needham, Mass. (television, large market)
•    KCCI-TV, Des Moines, Iowa (television, small market)
•    KCBS, San Francisco (radio, large market)
•    Alabama Public Radio, Tuscaloosa, Ala. (radio, small market)

In all, 67 news organizations are being honored with 99 National Edward R. Murrow Awards. The awards will be presented at the RTDNA Awards Dinner in New York on October 8, 2012 – click here to purchase tickets.

Audio and video for all the winning entries, as well as the complete list of winners, is available at RTDNA.org.

About the Edward R. Murrow Awards

Edward R. Murrow Award recipients reflect the principles embodied by Edward R. Murrow, longtime CBS News correspondent. Widely recognized as the father of electronic journalism, Murrow was known for his courageous reporting and insatiable desire to find the truth – qualities embodied by the RTDNA awards, which have been presented annually since 1971.