RTDNA Announces 2012 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award Winners

Contact: Ryan Murphy, ryanm@rtdna.org
For Immediate Release: April 12, 2011

RTDNA Announces 2012 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award Winners

WASHINGTON— The Radio Television Digital News Association today announced the 2012 regional winners of the Edward R. Murrow Awards for excellence in electronic journalism.

This year, RTDNA judges awarded 645 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 14 categories, including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Investigative Reporting, and Website. Awards are broken up by medium (radio, television, online) and by market size (small and large.)

RTDNA received more than 3,500 entries during the 2012 awards season, eclipsing 2011 by more than 500 entries and setting an all-time record for entries in what proved to be one of the most competitive Edward R. Murrow Awards seasons in RTDNA history.

“The quality of this year’s record number of entries was outstanding.  Our regional winners had tough competition from their peers and deserve to be very proud of their accomplishments,” said Mike Cavender, RTDNA Executive Director.

Nine winning entries by The Boston Globe led regional winners in 2012, the first time an Online News Operation has ever done so. Content from the Boston Globe’s Boston.com also topped the Online News Operation category with its nine Murrows.

“Digital news is making huge strides, as evidenced by the Globe’s nine winning entries for Boston.com.  This is the first time in our history that a digital news operation led the way with the most regional Murrow awards and it speaks volumes about how our industry and RTDNA is transforming itself,” said RTDNA Chairman Kevin Benz. 

In the large market television category, four stations led the way with eight Murrows each this year: KARE-TV, in Golden Valley (Minneapolis,) MN; KHOU-TV, in Houston; WCVB-TV, in Needham (Boston,) MA and WIAT-TV, in Birmingham, AL.

In the small market television category, three stations led the way with six Murrows each: KRDO-TV, in Colorado Springs, CO; WHO-TV, in Des Moines, IA and WISC-TV, in Madison, WI.

In the large market radio category, KMOX-AM, in St. Louis led the way with seven regional Murrows.

In the small market radio category WUFT-FM, in Gainesville, FL garnered top honors with eight Murrows.

A complete list of winners, and the accompanying audio and video, is available at RTDNA.org

Regional winners automatically become eligible for the national awards competition, which will be judged in June. The national Edward R. Murrow Awards will be presented in October at the RTDNA Awards Dinner in New York.

RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Murrow Awards since 1971. Radio, television and online news managers from markets across the country judged the entries in March and April.


RTDNA is the world’s largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTNDA represents local and network news professionals in broadcasting, cable and other digital media in more than 30 countries.