RTDNF to honor Rich Boehne

February 22, 2016 01:30

RTDNF will hold the 26th annual First Amendment Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, March 16 at the Grand Hyatt, 1000 H Street NW in Washington, DC. Among the honorees will be:

First Amendment Leadership Award: Rich Boehne, E.W. Scripps Company
RTDNF presents this award annually to a business or government leader who has made a significant contribution to the protection of the First Amendment and freedom of the press.

Rich Boehne, 59, is chairman of the board, president and CEO of The E.W. Scripps Company.
Rich began his media career in high school selling subscriptions for the Cincinnati Post, a Scripps newspaper, and later became a part-time reporter for The Cincinnati Enquirer. After graduating from Northern Kentucky University with a bachelor's degree in communications/journalism in 1981, he joined a growing chain of community newspapers. He returned to The Cincinnati Post – and Scripps – as a reporter and editor covering primarily business-related topics and the capital markets.
Rich joined the Scripps corporate staff in 1988 as manager of investor relations, just before the parent company’s initial public offering. He went on to become director of all of the company's communications efforts. He also joined the long-range strategic planning and development group. In May 1995 he was named a vice president and in 1999 was elected the corporation’s executive vice president.
In 2006 Rich was named chief operating officer of the enterprise, which then also included HGTV, Food Network and the other cable and digital business that Scripps had built or acquired. In 2008 those business were spun off into a separate publicly traded company, Scripps Networks Interactive. At the time of the separation, Rich was named president and CEO of The E.W. Scripps Company and began refocusing the company on local media, the future of journalism and expansion into digital media platforms. In 2013, the board elected Rich as chairman.
In addition to his work at Scripps, Rich is a member of the board of directors of The Associated Press, the world’s leading news organization. He also is a member of the Northern Kentucky University board of regents. In 2001 the university named Rich as its Outstanding Alumnus.

Other honorees include The Washington Post's Jason Rezaian, CBS' Cami McCormick, NPR's Robert Garcia, the University of Missouri's Tim Tai, and NBC's Tom Brokaw. The event will also honor Virginia journalists Alison Parker and Adam Ward. For more information on the event, see our event page. To purchase tickets, tables or sponsorships, click on the links below.

To learn more about the honorees, read the complete announcement.

Follow @RTDNA and tweet using the hashtag #RTDNFirst



EIJ19 register now