RTDNF to honor Steve Jones

February 20, 2017 01:30

RTDNF will hold its 27th annual First Amendment Awards on March 14 at the Grand Hyatt, 1000 H Street NW in Washington, DC. Among the champions of the First Amendment being honored will be:

First Amendment Service Award: Steve Jones, ABC News Radio
Steve Jones is Vice President and General Manager of ABC News Radio, in charge of strategic planning, business development, programming and operations for ABC-branded audio content covering news, entertainment, lifestyle and sports. Under Jones’ leadership, ABC News Radio has received some of the highest honors in broadcasting including more than a dozen Edward R. Murrow Awards, 10 International Radio Festival Awards, five National Headliner Awards and three New York Festivals Awards. Jones was twice named by the readers of Radio & Records as News Executive of the Year. Prior to leading ABC News Radio, led ABCNews.com and joined ABC News Radio in 1986 as a writer and editor covering a wide range of major news stories, including the Iran-Contra affair and the first Gulf War.
This award honors professionals in local or network news who work in an off-air, management, largely behind-the-scenes capacity.

Also being honored at the event are Mark Haperin and John Heilemann, Bill Whitaker of CBS News, Stanley S. Hubbard and Stanley E. Hubbard of Hubbard Broadcasting and Nina Totenberg of NPR News. For more on the honorees, please read the complete announcement. Details about the RTDNF First Amendment Awards can be found on our event page.

For questions about sponsorship opportunities for the 2017 First Amendment Awards Dinner, contact RTDNA's Holly Rose.

Your sponsorship support or ticket purchase will go towards programs covering a variety of issues from ethics to financial journalism, newsroom management to international reporting. RTDNF provides practical, “real-world” ways which help students and professionals alike become more proficient at their craft.

Follow @RTDNA and tweet using the hashtag #RTDNFirst