RTDNF First Amendment Awards


The RTDNF First Amendment Awards honor individuals and organizations for their work on behalf of First Amendment freedom. RTDNF is an advocacy group which supports protecting our First Amendment freedoms and our rights to free and unfettered media. It is also a training and educational organization, which provides thousands of dollars in scholarships each year to the journalists of the future and provides training to both entry-level and experienced media professionals.

Click here for complete coverage of the 2014 ceremony.

2015 will mark the 25th anniversary of the RTDNF First Amendment Awards. A dinner and awards ceremony is currently being planned for March of 2015 in Washington, DC.

For more information about how you can be a sponsor for the 2015 First Amendement Awards Dinner, contact RTDNA's Holly Rose.
Your sponsorship support or ticket purchase will go towards programs covering a variety of issues from ethics to financial journalism, newsroom management to international reporting. RTDNF provides practical, “real-world” ways which help students and professionals alike become more proficient at their craft.

Our 2014 honorees:


David Lougee

First Amendment
Leadership Award


Lester Holt
NBC News

Leonard Zeidenberg
First Amendment Award


Robin Sproul
ABC News

First Amendment
Service Award


Associated Press
Accepted by
Gary Pruitt, CEO

First Amendment



Bill Plante
CBS News

RTDNF Lifetime
Achievement Award
Thank you to our 2014 First Amendment Dinner sponsors:

The First Amendment Dinner is the single, most important fundraising event sponsored by RTDNF. We depend on the funds raised to support all of our programs and activities. We cannot do what we do without your help and support and the First Amendment Dinner is critical to those efforts. So please join us for a memorable, exciting and fun evening with old and new friends, colleagues and of course, the distinguished honorees.

Click on the button below to make your tax-deductible donation today:

Federal Tax ID: 38-1860090