RTDNA membership elects ground-breaking leader

September 29, 2018 01:34

The members of the Radio Television Digital News Association have elected a ground-breaking leader by selecting Terence Shepherd to the position of Chair-Elect. Shepherd is the organization’s first Chair-Elect of African descent. He was previously Region 13 director and Ethics Committee chair, and also served on the RTDNA awards committee.
Terence Shepherd is news director at WLRN Public Media, which is based in Miami and covers the area from Key West through Palm Beach County. The station has earned 25 Regional and three National Edward R. Murrow Awards in the past three years.
Before joining the station, Terence was managing editor of a financial website and previously spent 14 years editing business and financial reporters at The Miami Herald.
He worked in the commodity brokerage business before switching to journalism.
Shepherd, a native of Louisville, Ky., graduated from St. Andrew's School in Sewanee, Tennessee, and has degrees from the University of Virginia and Florida Atlantic University. He was a 2016 fellow in the Next Generation Leadership program and is a Life Member of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity.

"I am honored and humbled to be elected to this position, and thank the membership for the opportunity to serve RTDNA in this manner," Shepherd said. "I gladly accept this awesome responsibility."
Right now is among the best times in history to be a journalist. We face fresh challenges and innovations in technology, as well as the increasing customization of how and when consumers want to receive news. The role of journalists is being questioned in many corners, our value and relevance being put to the test on a daily basis. At the same time, unprecedented threats to our safety and our First Amendment rights to do our jobs is requiring a renewed focus on maintaining the highest journalistic standards. 

RTDNA has been and will remain the premier organization dedicated to protecting journalists against inappropriate efforts to diminish the importance of newsgathering in a democratic society.
Since joining the RTDNA board in 2014, I’ve seen the organization expand training opportunities for all levels of journalists and we will deepen that commitment to being a go-to resource for professionals and students who are interested in sharpening their skills and learning new techniques in the craft of journalism.

- Chair-Elect Terence Shepherd

 After one year, the Chair-Elect becomes the RTDNA Chair for one year, then serves for one year as RTDNF Chair. In sum, once elected this person serves a total of three years in Board leadership positions.

Association members also selected seven regional directors and two Directors-At-Large: 
Region 3:
Sheryl Worsley (Incumbent), Director of Audience Development, KSL-AM, Salt Lake City, UT
Worsley, 2016 Bob Priddy Award recipient for her service to RTDNA. This is her third term as Region 3 Director.
Region 4:
Lauren Olson, Digital Director, KARE11, Minneapolis, MN
Olson brings 11 years of digitally-driven industry experience to the RTDNA board.
Region 5:
Scott Diener (Incumbent), News Director, KMOV-TV, St. Louis, MO
Diener has served as Region 5 Director since 2017.
Region 6:
David Wagner (Incumbent), News Director, KLST/KSAN-TV, San Angelo, TX
This is Wagner's second term as Region 6 Director.
Region 9:
Gary Wordlaw (Incumbent), News Director, WVLA/WGMB-TV, Baton Rouge, LA
Wordlaw is a long-time board member and a recipient of the Barney Oldfield Award along with the 2007 RTDNF Board of Trustees.
Region 10:
Alisha McDevitt, News Director, WMUR-TV, Manchester, New Hampshire
This is McDevitt's first term on the RTDNA board. She started her career at WMUR in 1995 and has served as News Director since 2009.
Region 13:
Allison McGinley, News Director, WKMG, Orlando, FL
McGinley joins the board bringing 24 years of experience in local news.
Director at Large:
Blaise Labbe (Incumbent), News Director, WOAI/KABB-TV, San Antonio, TX
This is Labbe's second term on the board.

Director at Large:
Chip Mahaney, News Director, WCPO, Cincinnatti, OH (Incumbent)
Mahaney most recently served as Chair of the Membership Committee.
In addition to these elected positions effective immediately, two current executive committee members will advance to new roles. Chair-Elect Jerry Walsh assumes the RTDNA Chair position, the second role in a three-year leadership cycle. RTDNA Chair Scott Libin transitions to Chair of the Foundation. Outgoing RTDNF Chair Vince Duffy's second three year leadership cycle concludes. Duffy remains on the board as an appointed Foundation Trustee.