2019 Murrow Awards open now

November 19, 2018 11:00

Following a record year in 2018 with more than 4,000 entries, 780 regional and 100 national winners, culminating with a sold-out national Murrow Awards Gala, the 2019 Murrow Award Regional winners will be announced on April 23.
Local and national broadcast and digital news organizations are invited to submit examples of journalism from the past year that upholds the RTDNA Code of Ethics, demonstrates technical expertise and exemplifies the importance and impact of journalism as a service to the community.

The Murrow Awards will recognize work in 16 categories, including Breaking News, News Documentary, Investigative Reporting and Overall Excellence.
Updates for 2019 include broadening the entry requirements for the Excellence in Social Media category and the Website category for radio and TV stations, now called Multimedia. Find complete rules and entry information here. Remember, RTDNA members are eligible for a discount on entry fees.
Five categories of Student Murrow Awards winners will be announced in June.

Since 1971, RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards, among the most prestigious in news. Murrow Award winning work demonstrates the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.


Protect Journalists