Watch the First Amendment Awards Dinner live

The 31st annual First Amendment Awards Dinner will be streamed live tonight, starting at 7 p.m. If you can’t join us in person in Washington, D.C., you can join us virtually here


The First Amendment Awards honor individuals and organizations that exemplify responsible journalism and who practice their constitutionally guaranteed duty to seek and report the truth. This year’s First Amendment Awards will honor 10 individuals and organizations that helped protect, promote and defend the First Amendment.  


The honorees at this year’s First Amendment Awards Dinner are:


Mary Louise Kelly, 2022 Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment Award

Kim Godwin, 2022 First Amendment Service Award

Kevin Nishita, 2022 RTDNF Citation of Courage

Jessica Rosenworcel, 2022 First Amendment Leadership Award

Jayne Miller, 2022 Lifetime Achievement Award

Steve Kornacki, 2022 First Amendment Clarity Award

“Face the Nation with Margaret Brennan” produced by CBS News, 2022 First Amendment Award

Cesar Conde, 2021 Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment Award

First Draft, 2021 First Amendment Leadership Award

Mike Allen and Jim VendeHei, 2021 First Amendment Service Award 


In addition to recognizing responsible journalism, the First Amendment Awards Dinner & Show is the Foundation’s biggest annual fundraiser, enabling the Foundation to ensure the broadcast and digital news profession remains a critical part of our nation’s free press for generations to come and supporting scholarships for journalism students.