Anchor and Producer Leadership Summit scholarships awarded

May 23, 2019 01:30

Thanks to the support of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation RTDNA is pleased to award 10 scholarships to attend the 2019 Anchor and Producer Leadership Summit. The scholarship recipients are:


  • Jazmin Bailey, Morning Anchor, WESH 2
  • Galen Ettlin, Anchor/Reporter/Executive Producer, WCAX
  • Andrea Gutierrez, Apprentice News Clerk, The Frame, Southern California Public Radio (KPCC)
  • Nicole Jones, News Producer, NBC Charlotte - WCNC
  • Gina Jordan, Morning Edition host, WFSU-FM
  • Jonee’ Lewis, Anchor/Reporter, WREG
  • Dave Mistich, Senior Reporter, West Virginia Public Broadcasting
  • Jacqulyn Powell, Reporter/Anchor KXAN
  • Victor Puente, Anchor/Reporter/Videographer, WKYT
  • Taylor Walker, Producer, WDSU
From among nearly 70 applications from journalists of color or working in small markets, these 10 anchors and producers have demonstrated their commitment to leadership in local news and in their own newsrooms. 

The leadership summit, presented by RTDNA and Loyola University Chicago is Wednesday, July 10 through Friday, July 12 at Loyola's Water Tower campus in Chicago.

Faculty include highly experienced broadcast news trainers Jill Geisler and Scott Libin plus guest faculty members from across radio and TV including Minnesota Public Radio’s Angela Davis and KARE 11's Boyd Huppert.

Training topics will include coaching, storytelling, strategies for difficult newsroom conversations, strategies for engaging diverse communities and breaking news ethics.

Tuition is regularly $295, with discounts for RTDNA members and multiple team members from the same newsroom, and registration is open through June 26.