2020 RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Celebration

Biggest night in news to be hosted by industry's finest

October 11, 2018 11:00

The Radio Television Digital News Association has announced the first group of presenters for the 2018 Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala, to be held Monday, October 22 at Gotham Hall in New York City. More than 450 news leaders will gather for the annual black-tie event to honor the world’s finest broadcast and digital journalists.
These 2018 presenters, along with three others just announced, will share duties announcing the national winners and presenting trophies to the winning news organizations. They include:
Steven Portnoy – Correspondent, CBS News Radio
Over his nearly 15 years in the nation’s capital, Portnoy has brought listeners to presidential inaugurals, political conventions, State of the Union addresses and Supreme Court oral arguments. He has reported from every major dateline in Washington, including Capitol Hill and the Pentagon, and now covers the Trump administration from the second row of the While House briefing room. In 2016, he was one of CBS News Radio’s lead reporters on the presidential campaign trail. Prior to joining CBS News in 2015, Portnoy served as a radio correspondent for ABC News. He anchored ABC Radio’s coverage of the death of Osama bin Laden, coverage that earned the network an Edward R. Murrow Award for Breaking News. He also contributed to ABC’s Murrow Award-winning coverage of the Boston Marathon bombings in 2013 and the Virginia Tech massacre in 2007.
Leyla Santiago – Correspondent, CNN
Santiago is a correspondent for CNN based in Mexico City. Prior to joining CNN, Santiago was an anchor and reporter for WRAL in Raleigh, North Carolina, where she and her team won the prestigious Alfred I. DuPont award for the documentary ‘The Journey Alone’ about the surge in illegal immigration of unaccompanied minors from Central America and Mexico. Most recently, Santiago extensively covered the aftermath of Hurricane Maria in Puerto Rico, which garnered a Peabody Award nomination as well as an Edward R. Murrow Award for CNN. She has won Emmy awards for her coverage of the 2010 California wildfires and the crippling winter storm in Raleigh in 2014. In 2011, the Associated Press presented her with the Mark Twain award for best anchor.
Hansi Lo Wang – National Correspondent, NPR
Wang covers the changing demographics of the U.S. and breaking news in the Northeast for NPR’s Morning Edition, All Things Considered, Weekend Edition, hourly newscasts and NPR.org. In 2016, his reporting after the church shooting in Charleston, S.C. won a Salute to Excellence National Media Award from the National Association of Black Journalists. Wang was also a part of NPR’s award-winning coverage of Pope Francis’ tour of the U.S. His profile of a white member of a Boston Chinatown gang won a National Journalism Award from the Asian American Journalists Association in 2014. Since joining NPR in 2010 as a Kroc Fellow, Wang has contributed to NPR’s breaking news coverage of the Orlando nightclub shooting, protests in Baltimore after the death of Freddie Gray and the trial of George Zimmerman in Florida.
Jerry Walsh – RTDNA Chair and Vice President of Local Content Development, Nexstar
Walsh is responsible for leading the development and execution of Nexstar’s strategic local content and viewer engagement initiatives for its broadcast and digital operations in 100 markets across the United States. Since 2011, Walsh has been Nexstar’s Vice President of Local Content Development. Prior to joining Nexstar's corporate office, he was news director for WROC-TV in Rochester, New York.
Since 1971, RTDNA has been honoring outstanding electronic journalism through the Edward R. Murrow Awards. In 2018, nearly 4,500 award entries were submitted. Judges selected winners from across the United States and from international entrants across the globe. This year’s Gala will be streamed live on the event's website at rtdnaedwardrmurrowawards.org.
RTDNA thanks the generous sponsors of the 2018 Edward R. Murrow Awards, including: CNN, Hearst Television, TEGNA (Diamond Sponsors); ABC News, Netflix (Platinum Sponsors); CNN Newsource, Raycom Media, Youth Radio (Gold Sponsors); NBC News, Nexstar, NPR, Cox Media Group/WSB-TV, The Washington Post (Silver Sponsors); Stephen Arnold Music (Red Carpet Sponsor).


September Sweeps

2019 Research