Ed Bradley Scholarship winner 2014

January 5, 2015 11:00

Ed Bradley Scholarship
In 1994, RTDNF presented the first Ed Bradley Scholarship. Since then, 22 young and aspiring journalists have received the award created by the late CBS News and 60 Minutes correspondent. Ed Bradley received the Paul White Award from RTDNA in 2000. The Paul White Award recognizes an individual's lifetime commitment to excellence in journalism. Bradley received the First Amendment Award from RTDNF in 2005 in recognition of his support of the First Amendment rights guaranteed in the constitution.

2014 Ed Bradley Scholarship Winner - Aaron Maybin, Marquette University
Work Sample | Work Sample | Work Sample
Aaron Maybin is a senior journalism at Marquette University. The Wisconsin native is currently an associate producer at WISN-TV in Milwaukee, where he writes for newscasts, pitches story ideas and shadows reporters. During the summer of 2014, Maybin investigated inner-city gun violence in Flint, Michigan and the deep-rooted hunting culture in Minnesota for the Carnegie-Knight News21 initiative. He has also worked at WABC-TV in New York, KPHO-TV in Phoenix for the Meredith-Cronkite fellowship, WTMJ-TV in Milwaukee and served as news director at Marquette University Television. His goal is to work in network television and report for a newsmagazine show where he can do in-depth features on topical issues in the world. He is an avid runner, swimmer and Green Bay Packers fan.

"I cannot thank the RTDNF enough for selecting me to receive the 2014 Ed Bradley Scholarship," Maybin said. "Receiving this award is truly a full circle moment for me. I grew up watching 60 Minutes and admired Bradley’s skill, veracity and phenomenal storytelling. I still watch Bradley’s news stories and credit him as one of my first journalism teachers. I am extremely thankful to Bradley’s family for believing in a young journalist and allowing me to continue making strides toward a prosperous career in television."

For a complete list of scholarship and fellowship winners update as they are announced, visit our 2014 scholarship winners page.