RTDNA opens entry period for 2022 Edward R. Murrow Awards

The Radio Television Digital News Association is now accepting entries for the 2022 Edward R. Murrow Awards.

The Murrow Awards recognize excellence in broadcast, digital and student journalism. Only work published between Jan. 1, 2021, and Dec. 31, 2021, will be eligible for entry.

The deadline for entry is 5 p.m. EST, Feb. 10, 2022. Regional winners will be announced in Late Spring 2022 and national winners will be announced in Summer 2022. National winners will be honored at the 2022 Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala on Oct. 10, 2022, in New York City.

Learn more about the awards or submit your entries here.

This year’s awards feature several changes. For Overall Excellence entries, entrants are no longer required to submit their newscast with the overall excellence entry, nor are they required to submit an entry in the newscast entry. To be eligible, TV and radio stations must enter at least two other categories: Breaking News, Hard News, Investigative Reporting, Continuing Coverage, or Newscast.

There is a new category available for Digital news organizations: News Series, which allows organizations to submit up to five cached or active URLs linking to coverage of a single subject reported in multiple parts. This category already exists for TV and radio stations.

RTDNA has eliminated the following categories: Excellence in Sound in Television and Excellence in Video in Radio.

Additionally, RTDNA has modified some of its eligibility requirements.
  • Dual licensees should enter video content into TV categories and radio content into radio categories.
  • Podcasts produced by a “podcast studio” – unaffiliated with a television or radio organization – should enter in the Digital division. Podcasts produced — in part or in whole — by a corporate television or radio entity (as opposed to a local TV or radio station) should submit their entries in the Radio Network or Television Network category.
Any questions about eligibility can be directed to awards@rtdna.org.

Entrants are strongly encouraged to read the complete rules and category descriptions prior to submission.

About the Edward R. Murrow Awards
Among the most prestigious awards in news, the Murrow Awards recognize local and national news stories that uphold the RTDNA Code of Ethics, demonstrate technical expertise and exemplify the importance and impact of journalism as a service to the community. Murrow Award winning work demonstrates the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.

RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to broadcast and digital journalism. Founded as a grassroots organization in 1946, RTDNA’s mission is to promote and protect responsible journalism. RTDNA defends the First Amendment rights of electronic journalists throughout the country, honors outstanding work in the profession through the Edward R. Murrow Awards and provides members with training to encourage ethical standards, newsroom leadership and industry innovation.