George Foreman Scholarship winner 2014

December 10, 2014 01:30

George Foreman Tribute to Lyndon B. Johnson Scholarship
A $6000 award is given to a journalism student from the University of Texas at Austin. George Foreman is a boxing champion, Olympic gold medal winner and celebrated pitchman. As a young man, he was inspired by President Johnson and by RTDNF founder Barney Oldfield. In his autobiography, By George, Foreman credits LBJ's Job Corps program for rescuing him "from the gutter." He also thanks Barney Oldfield, "for a lifetime of friendship, devotion, counsel and wisdom. The world would be a far better place if everyone were lucky enough to have a friend like you."

2014 George Foreman Tribute to Lyndon B. Johnson Scholarship Winner - Alexandra Wilkins, University of Texas - Austin
Work Sample | Work Sample | Work Sample
From Cedar Park, Texas, Alex Wilkins is currently a senior broadcast journalism major at the University of Texas at Austin. She intends to graduate with the school’s Sports Journalism Certificate. In addition to her academic pursuits, Alex also works as an intern for ESPN’s Longhorn Network. Outside of her internship, she is involved with Texas Student Television, the only student-run, FCC-licensed television station in the nation. There she serves as an associate producer for the award-winning show, KVR News, produces the live sports segment for the show, and is a sports reporter for College Press Box. After graduation, Alex hopes to continue her passion for telling stories as a sports reporter.
"I am incredibly thankful to be a recipient of the George Foreman Tribute to Lyndon B. Johnson Scholarship," Wilkins said. "I, too, share a deep respect for Johnson and his great improvements to our society and it is an honor to receive such a prestigious and generous scholarship. I would like to express my utmost gratitude to the Radio Television Digital News Foundation for this opportunity and allowing me to further my passion in journalism."

For a complete list of scholarship and fellowship winners update as they are announced, visit our 2014 scholarship winners page.