National Edward R. Murrow Award winners

June 20, 2017 11:00

RTDNA has announced the winners of the 2017 national Edward R. Murrow Awards, which recognize outstanding work produced by radio, television and digital news organizations around the world.

"Now more than ever, it is important to recognize the outstanding journalism being done by newsrooms across the country and around the world," said RTDNA Chairman Vincent Duffy. "We're proud to highlight the great work of dedicated, hard-working, professional journalists who serve a critical role in our society."

This year, the 46th anniversary of the awards, RTDNA is presenting 117 national Edward R. Murrow Awards in 15 categories including excellence in innovation, breaking news, investigative reporting and more. RTDNA received nearly 4,300 entries during the 2017 awards season.

CBS Radio News and CBS News (television) won the Edward R. Murrow Award for overall excellence at the network level. CBS' radio team also won in the network newscast category and in breaking news. CBS' television team won in newscast, continuing coverage, writing and investigative reporting.

In the network radio division, NPR tied CBS with three awards, including excellence in innovation, feature reporting and continuing coverage. In network television, CNN matched CBS with five awards, including breaking news, hard news, news series, excellence in social media and excellence in video.

The Washington Post won five awards in the large digital news organization division, including continuing coverage, excellence in social media, writing, hard news and investigative reporting. The New York Times won the award for overall excellence. Among small digital news organizations, The Texas Tribune won four awards, for continuing coverage, excellence in social media, investigative reporting and overall excellence.

In large market radio, WNYC and WTOP each took home two awards. WNYC won for excellence in innovation and hard news. WTOP won for website and overall excellence.

In small market radio, New Hampshire Public radio earned three awards for feature reporting, news series and overall excellence. In large market television, KXAS-TV was the top local winner with four awards, including breaking news, excellence in sound, investigative reporting and overall excellence. KCCI-TV won three awards in small market television, for continuing coverage, writing and hard news. WWBT-TV won for overall excellence.To receive an Overall Excellence award, a news organization must exemplify the highest standards in serving its audience through quality electronic journalism.

Overall Excellence award winners in 2017 are:
  • CBS News, New York, NY (Network Television)
  • CBS Radio News, New York, NY (Network Radio)
  • The New York Times, New York, NY (Large Digital News Organization)
  • The Texas Tribune, Austin, TX (Small Digital News Organization)
  • KXAS-TV, Fort Worth, TX (Large Market Television)
  • WWBT-TV, Richmond, VA (Small Market Television)
  • WTOP-FM, Washington, DC (Large Market Radio)
  • New Hampshire Public Radio, Concord, NH (Small Market Radio)
The winners will be recognized at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York City on October 9. Tickets will go on sale next month.

A complete list of winners with links to the winning entries for the 2017 National Edward R. Murrow Awards can be found at Details about the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala, including trophy, ticket and sponsorship information are available at

Follow us on Twitter @RTDNA using the hashtag #Murrow