National Murrow Awards, RTDNA/UNITY Awards announced

June 12, 2013 11:00

WASHINGTON – The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has announced the winners of the 2013 national Edward R. Murrow Awards, which recognize work of the highest quality produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world, and the winners of the 2013 RTDNA/UNITY Awards, which honor outstanding achievement in the coverage of diversity.

For the first time in the history of the national Murrow Awards competition, the award for overall excellence in network television goes to a Canadian network, Global News.

Among the 94 national Murrow Awards to be presented at the New York Marriott Marquis in New York City October 14, 2013, CBS News led the network categories with seven wins, including three in radio and four in television. This marks the seventh year in a row that CBS has won the Overall Excellence Award in Network Radio News. In the local categories, WITF-FM in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania was the top winner with three awards. The Denver Post led among online news organizations with three awards.

The winners of this year's RTDNA/UNITY Awards, developed in cooperation with UNITY: Journalists for Diversity, were Michigan Radio, WJW-TV, ESPN Films, The Boston Globe, WFPL-FM and

Check out the complete list of winners with links to the winning entries for the 2013 National Edward R. Murrow Awards and the 2013 RTDNA/UNITY Awards.

"This year's winning entries were outstanding examples of electronic journalism at its finest," said Mike Cavender, Executive Director of RTDNA. "Our judges faced many difficult decisions to select winners from so many high-quality submissions."

A record number of award entries were submitted, and judges selected winners from across the United States and from international entrants across the globe.



RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTDNA represents local and network journalists in broadcasting, cable and digital media in more than 30 countries.


UNITY: Journalists for Diversity is an alliance of the Asian American Journalists Association, the National Association of Hispanic Journalists, the National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association and the Native American Journalists Association, which advocates for fair and accurate news coverage about people of color and LGBT issues, and aggressively challenges news organizations to increase diversity in whom they employ at all levels of their companies.


EIJ19 register now

2019 Research