Pete Wilson Scholarship Winner 2013

December 2, 2013 01:30

Pete Wilson Scholarship
The Pete Wilson Journalism Scholarship was established in 2007 by Wilson's friends and colleagues. The scholarship is granted to an undergraduate or graduate journalism student from the Bay Area who shares Wilson's commitment to ethical, responsible journalism.

2013 Pete Wilson Undergraduate Scholarship Winner - Talia Samelian | Website | Twitter
Talia Samelian is a senior at San Francisco State University in the Broadcast and Electronic Communication Arts department. She moved to the bay area two years ago from her home state of Florida in order to pursue her dreams of becoming a newscaster. In 2012 she created an online blog, Talia Around Town, to share local news packages and interviews she had created. Later that year, Talia was hired as an assignment editor in the news department of KPIX (CBS 5) in San Francisco. She’s currently the president of her school’s “College Students in Broadcasting” club. Talia was recently awarded the Steve Davis Memorial Scholarship from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

"I wrote my first newspaper article when I was 14 years old," said Samelian. "It was featured in my hometown’s local paper, The Sarasota Herald Tribune. When I saw my own words printed onto those pages for everyone to see, it was a very exciting and defining moment for me.  I realized then that I had the ability to not only influence but educate my peers. It was this idea that propelled me to choose a career in journalism. I wanted to use my own voice to help those who were unable to help themselves; whose voices had been silenced. It is priceless knowing that the RTDNA believes in the work that I am so passionate about.  The Pete Wilson Scholarship is a moment in my journey to the top that I will never forget. Thank you Radio Television Digital News Foundation for this opportunity and for supporting me. I will continue to work tirelessly to see my goals come to fruition."

For a complete list of scholarship and fellowship winners update as they are announced, visit our 2013 winners page.