Presidents Scholarship winner 2014

December 19, 2014 01:30

Presidents Scholarship
Two $1,000 awards given in honor of former RTDNA Presidents Theodore Koop, Bruce Dennis, James McCulla, John Salisbury, Bruce Palmer, Dick Cheverton, Jim Byron, Ben Chatfield and John Hogan.

2014 Presidents Scholarship Winner - Brooke Sassman, Rutgers University
Website | Work Sample | Work Sample
A senior at Rutgers University in the School of Communication and Information, Brooke Sassman is one of this year’s RTDNF Presidents Scholarship winners. The Journalism and Media Studies major represents the top .5% of her class as a member of Cap and Skull, the highest senior honor society at Rutgers University. This past spring, Brooke received a Foundation Scholarship from New York Women In Communications. In 2013 she was awarded the Ruth Whitney Scholarship from Glamour Magazine for her advanced level of reporting. For her work in the industry, the Today Show recognized Brooke and 17 other students as the “future of women in communications”. She’s previously interned at NY1 News, The Today Show,, Cosmopolitan Magazine, Glamour Magazine, and She’s the First. She managed over 500,000 Twitter followers as the Social Media Strategist for the web-based talk show “Gimme Mo” hosted by Monique Coleman. As a sophomore in college she also produced a commercial for the show that aired on channel 34 in New York City. Brooke has published more than 30 stories on, written for the Huffington Post and recently sold her first article to the national teen publication, Justine Magazine. On campus she’s served as the senior class President and co-founded a chapter of She's the First. In her time working for the Rutgers University Television Network, she's worn many hats as an Executive Producer, Creative Services Supervisor, Production Assistant, Host and News Correspondent.

"I'm so grateful that RTDNF saw something special in my young career and journey to becoming a journalist. I place a lot of value in the journalistic practices that RTDNF promotes and I could not be happier to become part of an organization that I have forever looked up to. Thanks for honoring me as this year's Presidents Scholarship winner, RTDNF!"

For a complete list of scholarship and fellowship winners update as they are announced, visit our 2014 scholarship winners page.


2021 Events