Presidents Scholarship winner 2014

December 3, 2014 01:30

Throughout the month of December, we will be announcing the winners of RTDNF's many journalism scholarships and fellowships. As each new name is released, it will be added to our 2014 scholarship winners page.

Presidents Scholarship
Two $1,000 awards given in honor of former RTDNA Presidents Theodore Koop, Bruce Dennis, James McCulla, John Salisbury, Bruce Palmer, Dick Cheverton, Jim Byron, Ben Chatfield and John Hogan.

2014 Presidents Scholarship Winner - Brett Hall, University of Maryland
Website | Work Sample | Work Sample
Brett is a senior broadcast journalism major at the Philip Merrill College of Journalism. He presently serves as an anchor/reporter for the Capital News Service, the Merrill College of Journalism’s student run news service. In addition Brett is as an associate journalist at All News 99.1 WNEW-FM in their Baltimore Bureau and can also be heard on CBS Radio’s New Country on 106.1 FM. Brett is currently on the Society of Professional Journalist’s national board as a student representative. He is past president of the University of Maryland student SPJ Chapter. Brett has worked part-time and interned at a various other broadcast stations including WBAL-TV, WMAR-TV, WDEL-AM, WXCY-FM, WPOC-FM, WHFC-FM and the Harford Cable Network. He says he knew he wanted to go into broadcasting in elementary school and has tried to take every opportunity since that time to learn more about the craft. Brett enjoys covering politics, justice and an all around good story.
"Getting the call that I had won the RTDNA presidents scholarship may have been one of the most gratifying calls I've received," Hall said. "Gratifying in the sense that I had applied for the scholarship three years in a row and... I guess this is what they mean when they say the third time is the charm. I am blessed to have found two things that I enjoy... journalism and broadcasting. RTDNA believes strongly in these two things and I can't think of a better award for a broadcast journalism senior."

For a complete list of scholarship and fellowship winners update as they are announced, visit our 2014 scholarship winners page.


2021 Events