Presidents Scholarship winner 2015

December 9, 2015 01:30

Two $1,000 awards given in honor of former RTDNA Presidents Theodore Koop, Bruce Dennis, James McCulla, John Salisbury, Bruce Palmer, Dick Cheverton, Jim Byron, Ben Chatfield and John Hogan.

2015 Presidents Scholarship Winner - Jenna Middaugh, University of Missouri
Work Sample | Work Sample | Work Sample@JennaMiddaugh
I am a Broadcast Journalism major with an emphasis in Radio/TV Reporter/Anchor and will graduate from the University of Missouri in May 2016 after finishing college in three years. I have worked at Columbia's NBC-affiliate television station KOMU 8 since my freshman year of college. I worked my way up the ranks at the station. I started out answering the phones and checking the email as a desk assistant, along with writing stories for the website,, and managing the station’s social media pages as a digital producer. After my first year of school, I started producing full newscasts and currently report for KOMU 8. As a reporter, I’m a one-man-band: coming up with story ideas, interviewing sources, shooting b-roll, editing everything together and then fronting it live for the 5 and 6 o’clock news. I’ve also anchored various shows for the station’s morning, noon, 5, 6, 9 and 10 o’clock newscasts. Outside of KOMU 8, I reported for Columbia's NPR-affiliate radio station KBIA during the fall of 2014 and interned at KMBC, a television station in my hometown of Kansas City, during the winter of 2014.

I was so excited when I received the call from RTDNF. I couldn’t believe I had won! I am thrilled RTDNF recognized all the hard work and dedication I have put into my journalism career, and I am honored to be chosen as a winner of the Presidents Scholarship.

Stacey Woelfel, Associate Professor and Director of the Jonathan B. Murray Center for Documentary Journalism said, "Jenna hit the newsroom on her very first day ready to do whatever it took to get the newscast on the air. It’s exciting to see RTDNF provide the means for her to finish her education and lead a new generation of TV journalists."


2021 Events