RTDNA to start announcing Regional Murrow winners next week

The Radio Television Digital News Association will start to release the 2022 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award winners next week. But things will look a little different this year. 

Instead of announcing every regional winner all at once, RTDNA will give each Region its dedicated day when its winners will be announced. 

Welcome to Murrow May! 

Beginning Tuesday, we will announce a new Region of winners each day through the end of the month. Our goal is to give each Region its own special time to celebrate its Regional Murrow Winners. 

Here is the schedule of the announcements: 


Tuesday, May 10 — Region 1
Wednesday, May 11 — Region 2
Thursday, May 12 — Region 3
Friday, May 13 — Region 4
Monday, May 16 — Region 5
Tuesday, May 17 — Region 6
Wednesday, May 18 — Region 7
Thursday, May 19 — Region 8
Friday, May 20 — Region 9
Monday, May 23 — Region 10
Tuesday, May 24 — Region 11
Wednesday, May 25 — Region 12
Thursday, May 26 — Region 13
Friday, May 27 — Region 14


We will announce the winners on RTDNA.org and via Twitter. We will not be calling organizations in advance to let them know they’ve won. 

Each regional winner will advance to compete for the National Edward R. Murrow Awards, the winners of which will be announced this summer. All National Murrow winners will be invited to the Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala, to be held Oct. 10 at Gotham Hall in New York City. 

About the Edward R. Murrow Awards
Among the most prestigious awards in news, the Murrow Awards recognize local and national news stories that uphold the RTDNA Code of Ethics, demonstrate technical expertise and exemplify the importance and impact of journalism as a service to the community. Murrow Award winning work demonstrates the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession. RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with these awards since 1971.