RTDNA announces 2013 Paul White Award winner

May 8, 2013 09:00

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has announced the winner of the 2013 Paul White Award, which recognizes a lifetime of achievement and service to the profession of electronic journalism.

This year’s Paul White Award will be presented to Chris Wallace, Fox News host and anchor.

"In a career spanning 40 years and three television networks, Chris Wallace exemplifies the journalistic tradition of holding the powerful accountable," said Mike Cavender, Executive Director of RTDNA. "He works tirelessly to demand answers from America’s leaders on the pressing issues of our time."

"We are particularly pleased that Chris will join Mike Wallace as the first father and son recipients of the Paul White Award," added Vincent Duffy, Chairman of RTDNA. "Journalism has benefitted greatly from the contributions of two generations of the Wallace family." The late Mike Wallace, long-time co-host of CBS News’ "60 Minutes," received the award in 1991.

The award will be presented on Sunday, August 25 at 5:30pm PDT at the Excellence in Journalism 2013 national convention, at the Anaheim Marriott Hotel in Anaheim, California. The awards ceremony will be followed by a reception for Wallace.

About Chris Wallace
Chris Wallace is the anchor of "Fox News Sunday", Fox Broadcasting Company's Sunday morning public affairs program. He also contributes to Fox News Channel's "America's Election HQ" coverage and is based in Washington, D.C.   Wallace also served as a panelist in a number of FNC's Republican primary debates.
Wallace has won every major broadcast news award for his reporting, including three Emmy Awards, the Dupont-Columbia Silver Baton, the Peabody Award, and most recently, the Sol Taishoff Award for Broadcast Journalism, which was awarded to him by the National Press Foundation. Wallace has been described as an "equal opportunity inquisitor" by The Boston Globe, "an aggressive journalist," "sharp edged" and "solid" by The Washington Post and "an equal-opportunity ravager" by The Miami Herald.
Before joining Fox News, Wallace worked at ABC News for 14 years where he served as the senior correspondent for "Primetime Thursday" and as a substitute host for "Nightline." During his tenure with ABC News, Wallace hosted multiple groundbreaking investigations and received numerous awards for his work. Prior to joining ABC News, Wallace was with NBC News where he served as the chief White House correspondent from 1982-1989. While at NBC, he covered the 1980, 1984 and 1988 presidential campaigns as well as the Democratic and Republican conventions in those years. Wallace anchored "Meet the Press" from 1987-1988, making him the only person to have hosted two Sunday talk shows. He also anchored the Sunday edition of "NBC Nightly News" from 1982-1984 and 1986-1987. Wallace joined NBC as a reporter with WNBC-TV in New York City in 1975.

About the Paul White Award
RTDNA established the Paul White Award in 1956 to honor the broadcast news pioneer who served as the first news director at CBS. The award recognizes an individual’s lifetime contribution to electronic journalism. Past Paul White recipients include Linda Ellerbee, Steve Kroft, Christiane Amanpour, Charles Gibson, Tom Brokaw, Dan Rather, Peter Jennings, Bob Schieffer, Ted Koppel, Pauline Frederick and Edward R. Murrow.

RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTDNA represents local and network journalists in broadcasting, cable and digital media in more than 30 countries.


2021 Events