RTDNA announces 2014 Regional Murrow Awards

April 22, 2014 11:00

RTDNA has announced the 2014 regional winners of the Edward R. Murrow Awards. The awards recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.

This year, RTDNA awarded 661 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 14 categories, including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Investigative Reporting, and Website.

"RTDNA is proud to be able to honor the best of local broadcast and digital journalism with these prestigious awards while honoring the legacy of Edward R. Murrow," said RTDNA Chairman Chris Carl. "I would like to personally congratulate all the regional winners and wish them luck as they move on to the national competition."

"The Murrow Awards honor journalism at its finest," added Mike Cavender, Executive Director of RTDNA. "Local newsrooms serve their communities 365 days a year, and we're proud to recognize the great work they do."

RTDNA received more than 4,000 entries during the 2014 awards season, surpassing 2013 by more than 500 entries and setting an all-time record for entries in what proved to be one of the most competitive Edward R. Murrow Awards seasons in RTDNA history.
In the large market television category, five stations led the way with six Murrows each this year: KARE-TV in Minneapolis, WXIA-TV in Atlanta, WCVB-TV in Boston, WBMA-TV in Birmingham, Ala. and KING-TV in Seattle.

In the small market television category, WVUE-TV in New Orleans won eight Murrow awards; three in conjuction with the Times-Picayune newspaper. Three other stations won six Murrows each: WBIR-TV in Knoxville, Tenn; KTVB-TV in Boise, Idaho and WISC-TV, in Madison, Wis.

In the large market radio category, WBHM, in Birmingham, Ala. led the way with eight regional Murrows.

In the small market radio category, five stations garnered top honors with six Murrows each: KBSX in Boise, Idaho; South Dakota Public Radio in Vermillion, S.D.; Marfa Public Radio in Marfa, Tex.; WATD in Marshfield, Mass. and WITF in Harrisburg, Pa.

Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged in May. National awards, including those for network news organizations, will be presented at the New York Marriott Marquis in New York City on October 6.

A complete list of the 2014 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards winners can be found on our regional awards page.