RTDNA announces 2015 Regional Murrow Awards

April 23, 2015 11:00

CLICK HERE for the complete list of 2015 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award winners.

RTDNA has announced the 2015 regional winners of the Edward R. Murrow Awards. The awards recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.

This year, RTDNA awarded 673 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 14 categories, including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Investigative Reporting, and Website.

"When newsrooms do outstanding work to inform their audience and serve their community, it should be celebrated," said RTDNA Chair Amy Tardif. "Being recognized with one of journalism's most prestigious awards is one way to showcase their commitment to excellence."

"At a time when news reaches people in so many ways, these awards become even more meaningful," added RTDNA Executive Director Mike Cavender. "It is a tangible reminder of the high quality local journalism being done across the country."

RTDNA received more than 4,200 entries during the 2015 awards season, setting an all-time record for the third year in a row.
In the large market television category, KING-TV in Seattle led the way with an unrivaled ten Murrows this year.  Among other categories, they took home awards in Overall Excellence, Breaking News and Investigative Reporting.
WVUE-TV in New Orleans and WBBH-TV in Fort Myers, Florida each took home seven Murrows, the most in the small market television category. This included wins in the Overall Excellence and Newscast categories for both stations.
Four large market radio stations won six Murrows each this year: KERA-FM in Dallas, KIRO-FM in Seattle, WUNC-FM in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, and KWMU-FM in St. Louis.
In the small market radio category, one station led the way with eight Murrows this year: KRTS-FM in Marfa, Texas.

Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged in May. National awards, including those for network news organizations, will be presented at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York City on October 12.

A complete list of the 2015 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards winners can be found on our regional winners page.

Follow us on Twitter @RTDNA using the hashtag #Murrows for more throughout the day and in the weeks ahead.

RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTDNA represents local and network journalists in broadcasting, cable and digital media in more than 30 countries.