RTDNA announces 2017 John F. Hogan Award winner

June 29, 2017 11:00

RTDNA has announced the winner of the 2017 John F. Hogan Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes an individual's contributions to the journalism profession and freedom of the press: CNN's Jake Tapper.

“When it comes to political reporting in today's tumultuous times, Jake Tapper has become a fixture,” said Vincent Duffy, RTDNA Chairman. “He pulls no punches and pushes politicians from all sides to get to the core of the issues facing this country.”

The award will be presented on Friday, September 8 at 4:30pm PT at Excellence in Journalism 2017, at the Anaheim Marriott. The ceremony will be followed by a reception.

About Jake Tapper
CNN anchor and chief Washington correspondent Jake Tapper joined the network in January 2013. Tapper currently hosts a one-hour weekday program, The Lead with Jake Tapper, which debuted in March 2013, and has hosted CNN’s Sunday morning show, State of the Union, since June 2015. Most recently, Tapper lent his political expertise to CNN’s 2016 election coverage and moderated two Presidential Primary debates.

Tapper has been a widely-respected reporter in the nation's capital for more than 15 years. He has earned the coveted Merriman Smith Award for presidential coverage from the White House Correspondents’ Association an unprecedented three consecutive times.

Tapper joined CNN from ABC News, where he most recently served as senior White House correspondent, a position he was named to immediately following the 2008 presidential election. He also played a key role in the network's Edward R. Murrow-Award winning coverage of the death of Osama bin Laden. Prior to joining ABC News, Tapper served as national correspondent, for Salon.com, and has been published in The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, The Washington Post, The Los Angeles Times and The Weekly Standard, among others, and was a frequent contributor to National Public Radio’s All Things Considered.

About the Award
Named for the founder and first president of RTDNA, the John F. Hogan Distinguished Service Award was established in 1959 to recognize an individual's contributions to the journalism profession and freedom of the press. Past Hogan Award recipients include Jorge Ramos, Christopher Glenn, Don Fitzpatrick, Hugh Downs, Walter Cronkite, Terry Anderson, Rob Downey, Col. Barney Oldfield, David Sarnoff and Frank Stanton.

RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. Founded as a grassroots organization in 1946, RTDNA works to protect the rights of electronic journalists throughout the country, promotes ethical standards in the industry, provides members with training and education and honors outstanding work in the profession through the Edward R. Murrow Awards.