RTDNA Announces 2018 National Edward R. Murrow Awards

June 19, 2018 11:00

RTDNA is proud to announce the winners of the 2018 National Murrow Awards. From more than 4,400 entries, these awards recognize 89 local and network radio, television and digital news organizations for 118 examples of outstanding journalism in 16 categories.

From excellence in technical aspects of multimedia news to innovation, engagement and investigation, these pieces exemplify the best of broadcast and digital journalism today.
“Winning an RTDNA National Edward R. Murrow Award means that a news organization has provided exemplary public service to its viewers, listeners and readers. These honorees truly represent the very best in broadcast and digital journalism around the world,” said Dan Shelley, RTDNA Executive Director.
Continuing its tradition of excellence, CBS News has been awarded top honors, achieving Overall Excellence in both the network radio and network television categories.
WTOP-FM, Washington D.C., and New Hampshire Public Radio also repeat their 2017 wins for Overall Excellence in large market radio and small market radio, respectively.
In the Television categories, Overall Excellence awards go to KCRA-TV, Sacramento, for large market television and WREX-TV, Rockford, Ill., for small market television.
For Overall Excellence among digital news organization entrants, The New York Times and The Marshall Project are 2018’s winners for large and small outlets, respectively.
Taking home the most national awards this year is NPR, with five wins for Continuing Coverage, Excellence in Social Media, Excellence in Sound, Excellence in Hard News, and News Documentary.
“We cannot make our communities better unless we understand them, and these stories from news organizations large and small have educated, uplifted, inspired, uncovered and enlightened,” Shelley said.
These winning pieces revealed the tragedies of human trafficking, kept audiences safe and informed during devastating hurricanes and fires, and provided desperately sought information and context during too-common moments of violence. They provided insight into healthcare, homelessness and immigration issues, engaged communities in learning about mental health and dug deep into election interference,” he continued.
The national awards will be presented October 22, 2018, at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York City.

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971.  Murrow’s pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.