RTDNA announces 2018 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award winners

April 25, 2018 11:00

On the 110th anniversary of the birth of the father of broadcast journalism, Edward R. Murrow, RTDNA has announced the winners of the 2018 regional awards honoring his name. From more than 4,400 entries, 785 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 16 categories this year recognize more than 307 local radio, television and digital news organizations across the country and internationally.

“At a time when it’s fashionable to bash so-called mainstream media, it’s more important than ever to recognize the extraordinary work of dedicated journalists who serve communities across our country,” said RTDNA Chairman Scott Libin. “In cities large and small, representing a wide variety of ownership groups, these news organizations show why Americans trust local journalists to report fairly and accurately about issues that matter.”

Taking home top honors this year is public radio station WBUR in Boston, with 12 wins in the large market radio division, including Overall Excellence, Website, Social Media and Excellence in Innovation.

Harrisburg, PA, station WITF led in small market radio with 11 wins including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Newscast, Investigative Reporting and Excellence in Innovation.

Denver’s KUSA-TV in large market television and WTVR-TV in Richmond, VA, in small market television led the way in their divisions with nine awards each.

Marfa Public Radio, WTOP-FM and KBIA radio also scored nine awards each, including Overall Excellence.

The Texas Tribune continues its tradition of excellence in the small digital news organization division with seven regional awards.

2018’s 38 Excellence in Innovation winners demonstrate local broadcasters adapting to changing technology and audiences.

Innovative winners this year include 360 degree video pieces from KTVB-TV, KCRA-TV and WTVR-TV, audience-driven fact-checking project Verify at TEGNA's WFAA-TV, unique use of video by KSL in Digital Radio, and KUSA-TV’s non-traditional news program Next with Kyle Clark.

From among 312 investigative reporting pieces submitted for consideration this year, 54 have been recognized for upholding the RTDNA Code of Ethics and demonstrating the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.

This year’s winning investigations uncovered water contamination, held local and federal agencies accountable for spending and shed light on sexual assault in statehouses and schools.

Local news coverage of protests, plane crashes, shootings and severe weather from wildfires to hurricanes kept communities safe and informed in 2017 and earned 48 regional awards for breaking news.

“Each year RTDNA is proud to honor the very best in broadcast and digital journalism through the Edward R. Murrow Awards and, by extension, highlight to the public why outstanding responsible journalism is essential to their daily lives,” said Dan Shelley, RTDNA Executive Director.

Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition. National awards, including those for network news organizations, large digital news organizations and for students, will be announced in June. The national awards are presented at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York City on October 22, 2018.
The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971.  Murrow’s pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.