RTDNA announces 2020 Regional Murrow Award winners

May 12, 2020 11:00

RTDNA is proud to announce the 2020 Regional Murrow Award winners.
Selected from a record of more than five thousand entries, these regional winners represent the best in local broadcast news.

“Murrow Award-winning journalism upholds the guiding principles of RTDNA’s Code of Ethics: truth, accuracy, fairness, context, independence, transparency and accountability for consequences,” said RTDNA Chairman Terence Shepherd. “Displaying technical excellence, creativity and innovation, this year’s winners have empowered audiences across the country to make more informed decisions for themselves and to become closer to their communities.”

More than 750 awards in 14 regions represent more than 350 local radio and television news outlets from 49 states and four countries.

The winning work includes 36 podcasts, a new category for 2020, along with nearly 50 investigative reports and more than 100 examples of excellence in innovation, social media and multimedia.

“The regional RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Award recipients we announce today are doing an exemplary job of serving their communities by seeking and reporting the truth, raising issues that often serve as catalysts for positive change in their viewing and listening areas,” said Dan Shelley, RTDNA Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer. “I couldn’t be more proud of the high quality of responsible journalism as evidenced by these winners.”

The winningest outlets for 2020 in each division include:
  • Large Market Television: KING-TV, Seattle, with 11 wins;
  • Small Market Radio: Marfa Public Radio, Marfa, Texas with 10 wins;
  • Large Market Radio: KJZZ News, Phoenix; KUOW, Seattle; WBUR, Boston; and WLRN, Miami, each with 7 wins; and
  • Small Market Television, Hawaii News Now, Honolulu, with 5 regional Murrow Awards.
View the complete regional winner list here.

Regional winners automatically move on to the national round of consideration, which also includes digital news organization and network competitors.

Since 1971, RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards. Murrow Award winning work demonstrates the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.
RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to broadcast and digital journalism. Founded as a grassroots organization in 1946, RTDNA’s mission is to promote and protect responsible journalism. RTDNA defends the First Amendment rights of electronic journalists throughout the country, honors outstanding work in the profession through the Edward R. Murrow Awards and provides members with training to encourage ethical standards, newsroom leadership and industry innovation Join our community of courageous news leaders and friends of the First Amendment or support our work – and local journalism across the country – with a gift that makes a difference in democracy.