RTDNA honors Marks, Rose with top awards

September 19, 2016 07:15

RTDNA today honored Gray Television's Jeff Marks with its John F. Hogan Distinguished Service Award and CBS and PBS journalist Charlie Rose with its Paul White Award, the organization's highest honors for contributions to the journalism profession and freedom of the press.

"Charlie Rose and Jeff Marks are outstanding examples of true dedication, both in front of and behind the camera," said Mike Cavender, Executive Director of RTDNA. "We are proud to recognize their service to our profession."

The awards were presented at Excellence in Journalism 2016, the national convention of RTDNA, the Society of Professional Journalists and the Native American Journalists Association, held at the Sheraton New Orleans. The ceremony was followed by a reception.

About Charlie Rose
Charlie Rose is a co-host of "CBS This Morning" with Norah O'Donnell and Gayle King. Rose is also a contributing correspondent to "60 Minutes," whose recent interviews include Russian President Vladimir Putin, Apple CEO Tim Cook, Comedian Larry David, Broadway's Lin-Manuel Miranda and Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton.

Rose continues to serve as executive editor and host of "Charlie Rose," which appears nightly on PBS and in prime time on Bloomberg Television in the United States and around the world. Since 1991, "Charlie Rose" has aired countless hours with Nobel Laureates, and extraordinary men and women of science, politics, art, business, sports, technology, literature and entertainment.

Rose has won Emmy and Peabody Awards, the Legion d'honneur, many honorary degrees, and numerous awards from the scientific and journalism communities including the Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism. In 2014, he appeared on TIME's list of the 100 Most Influential People in the world. He was born in Henderson, North Carolina, and graduated from Duke University with a B.A. in History and a J.D. from the School of Law. He also attended the New York University Graduate School of Business.

About the Paul White Award
RTDNA established the Paul White Award in 1956 to honor the broadcast news pioneer who served as the first news director at CBS. The award recognizes an individual’s lifetime contribution to electronic journalism. Past Paul White recipients include Chris Wallace, Linda Ellerbee, Steve Kroft, Christiane Amanpour, Charles Gibson, Tom Brokaw, Dan Rather, Peter Jennings, Bob Schieffer, Ted Koppel, Pauline Frederick and Edward R. Murrow.

About Jeff Marks
Jeff Marks is the director for talent development for Gray Television, the owner of television stations in 50 U. S. markets. He is responsible for assisting the stations with a wide range of training and recruiting tools. He served for more than eight years as president and general manager of WDBJ7 in Roanoke, Virgina. Before Roanoke, he served as general manager of WAGT-TV in Augusta, Georgia, WLBZ-TV in Bangor, Maine, and News 12 New Jersey, an all-news regional cable channel.

He began his career as a radio and television journalist in his home state of Kentucky and also served as executive producer for news at WJLA-TV in Washington, D.C. Jeff’s first news director position was at WCSH-TV in Portland, Maine, where the station’s newscasts grew to the number one market position during his tenure, a position the station still holds nearly 30 years later. Jeff was elected chairman of RTDNA , and served eight years on its board. He was inducted into the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame in 2015.

He has coached journalists at the Poynter Institute in Florida and several universities and has traveled overseas on numerous occasions to train broadcasters. He has lectured and trained in multiple cities throughout the countries of Romania, Ukraine and Georgia.He holds a bachelor’s degree in telecommunications from the University of Kentucky.

About the John F. Hogan Award
Named for the founder and first president of RTDNA, the John F. Hogan Distinguished Service Award was established in 1959 to recognize an individual's contributions to the journalism profession and freedom of the press. Past Hogan Award recipients include Jorge Ramos, Christopher Glenn, Don Fitzpatrick, Hugh Downs, Walter Cronkite, Terry Anderson, Rob Downey, Col. Barney Oldfield, David Sarnoff and Frank Stanton.

RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. Founded as a grassroots organization in 1946, RTDNA works to protect the rights of electronic journalists throughout the country, promotes ethical standards in the industry, provides members with training and education and honors outstanding work in the profession through the Edward R. Murrow Awards.


EIJ19 register now

2019 Research