RTDNA honors Pitts, Alcindor with White and Hogan awards

November 10, 2020 11:00

RTDNA today named the 2020 recipients of its highest individual honors.

The Paul White Award will be awarded to “Nightline” Co-Anchor and ABC News Chief National Correspondent Byron Pitts.

The John F. Hogan Distinguished Service Award will be awarded to PBS NewsHour White House Correspondent Yamiche Alcindor.

“Byron Pitts has been a career-long champion for the very best of broadcast journalism and is more than deserving of RTDNA's highest honor. Yamiche Alcindor, one of the youngest recipients of the honor named for our founder, John F. Hogan, demonstrates every day how critical it is to hold the powerful accountable and provide the public with consistently outstanding responsible journalism.” said RTDNA Executive Director Dan Shelley.


Hogan Award honoree Yamiche Alcindor has been PBS NewsHour’s White House correspondent since January 2018.
Alcindor is also a contributor for NBC News and MSNBC. Previously, Alcindor worked as a national political reporter for The New York Times and before joining The Times, she was a national breaking news reporter for USA Today. She often tells stories about the intersection of race and politics, fatal police encounters and the impact of President Donald Trump's policies on working class people and people of color. Alcindor’s overall goal is to be a civil rights journalist and she was inspired by the late PBS NewsHour's Gwen Ifill.
Earlier this year, Alcindor was named NABJ’s “Journalist of the Year,” the recipient of IWMF’s Gwen Ifill Award and the White House Correspondents’ Association’s recipient of the Aldo Beckman Award for Overall Excellence in White House Coverage. She has also been honored with the Ifill Next Generation Award by Simmons University and NextGen Leader Award by the Georgetown Entertainment & Media Alliance. In 2017, she won an award in a tribute to Ifill during Syracuse University’s Toner Prize ceremony.
Named for the founder and first president of the association, the John F. Hogan Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual's contributions to the journalism profession and freedom of the press.  Since 1959, honorees have included RTDNF founder Col. Barney Oldfield, Pierre Thomas, Pete Williams, and John Quiñones.


Paul White Award honoree Byron Pitts was named co-anchor of ABC News’ “Nightline” in 2014. He has covered national news stories and in-depth features for the network, reporting across the news division. Pitts is a multiple Emmy® Award-winning journalist and news veteran with over 20 years of experience. After less than 24 hours at ABC News, Pitts immediately joined the network’s live special coverage of the Boston marathon bombing investigation. Since then, Pitts has gone on to report live from Baltimore, Dallas and Baton Rouge during each cities’ recent riots and protests. He also co-anchored a special edition of “Nightline” with Juju Chang from Los Angeles, looking back on the city 25 years after the riots that broke out following the Rodney King verdict. During the 2016 election, Pitts was a key part of the network’s coverage.

Prior to joining ABC News, Pitts spent 15 years at CBS News where he served as chief national correspondent for “The CBS Evening News,” filed regularly for “60 Minutes,” and won an Emmy for his coverage of the 9/11 terrorist attacks. He was named the National Association of Black Journalists Journalist of the Year in 2002.

The Paul White Award, RTDNA’s highest honor, is named for the first news director of CBS. It recognizes an individual's lifetime contributions to electronic journalism. Presented annually since 1956, past recipients include Bill Whitaker, Lester Holt, Christiane Amanpour, Barbara Walters, Walter Cronkite and Edward R. Murrow among many others.



2021 Events