RTDNA membership elects 8 Directors, Chair-Elect; Shepherd assumes Chair

September 7, 2019 02:15

The RTDNA membership has reelected seven incumbent board members and one new regional director, Chairman Jerry Walsh announced in San Antonio at the RTDNA closing business meeting, in addition to a new Chair-Elect.
Reelected members of the board include five regional directors: Region 1 Director Erica Hill, Region 2 Director Brandon Mercer, Region 7 Director Jam Sardar, Region 11 Director Tim Scheld, and Region 12 Director Mark Kraham. Two at-large directors, Ellen Crooke and Kimberly Wyatt, were also reelected to new two-year terms. 
In a competitive three-way race, the new Region 8 Director is Julie Wolfe, News Director at WHAS-TV in Louisville, KY. “We are journalists. It’s simple. And also so complicated. It’s why RTDNA is more important today than it’s ever been,” Wolfe said in her candidate statement. “Local journalists need training, support, and resources to help them navigate their roles in their communities and in conversations about who we are and why we do what we do. My first encounter with RTDNA was as a senior studying journalism at college. I was eager and excited about finding my first job. Eighteen years later, I am just as excited about the opportunity to join this prestigious group of innovative leaders.”  
Andrea StahlamanRunning unopposed, immediate past Region 8 Director Andrea Stahlman has been elected to the role of Chair-Elect, a one-year term after which the Chair-Elect becomes the RTDNA Chair for one year, then serves for one year as RTDNF Chair.

Stahlman said in her campaign statement, “RTDNA is an organization that works for you, protecting both the integrity of our profession and journalists themselves. It defends, educates, advocates and believes in your efforts as our industry faces attacks and criticism. RTDNA recognizes your ground-breaking stories and community impact with its Regional and National Murrow Awards. I am excited and honored to support the mission of RTDNA as both a voice and a resource for all journalists.”
Election Results:
  • Chair-Elect: Andrea Stahlman, WLKY-TV, Louisville, KY
  • Region 1 Director: Erica Hill, KCQP-TV, Seattle, WA
  • Region 2: Brandon Mercer, San Francisco, CA
  • Region 7: Jam Sardar, WLNS-TV, Lansing, MI
  • Region 8: Julie Wolfe, WHAS-TV, Louisville, KY
  • Region 11: Tim Scheld, WCBS-AM, New York, NY
  • Region 12: Mark Kraham, WDVM-TV, Hagerstown, MD
  • Directors-at-Large: Ellen Crooke, TEGNA, McLean, VA, and Kimberly Wyatt, WEAR-TV, Pensacola, FL
The newly and reelected Board members assume their duties immediately following the closing session of Excellence in Journalism 2019. The board transition also includes the progression of the officers’ leadership cycles.
RTDNF Chairman Scott Libin’s three-year term of leadership ends. For his service on the board of directors, Libin receives the Dedicated Service Award. 
Jerry Walsh, immediate past chair, was awarded the outgoing chairman award and a lifetime membership in RTDNA.  Walsh now assumes the role of Foundation Chairman for one year. Terence Shepherd

Walsh passed the gavel to Chair-Elect Terence Shepherd, who assumes the role of RTDNA Chairman. He is the association’s first Chairman of African descent. Shepherd leads the WLRN, Miami, news department, which has earned 30 regional and three national Murrow Awards in the past three years.


2021 Events