RTDNA presents 2017 National Edward R. Murrow Awards

October 9, 2017 10:00

RTDNA has presented the 2017 National Edward R. Murrow Awards, which recognize work of the highest quality produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world, at its annual Awards Gala in New York City.

RTDNA awarded 122 national Edward R. Murrow Awards in 15 categories including excellence in innovation, breaking news, investigative reporting, five student awards and more. RTDNA received nearly 4,300 entries during the 2017 awards season.

CBS Radio News and CBS News (television) won the Edward R. Murrow Award for overall excellence at the network level. CBS' radio team also won in the network newscast category and in breaking news. CBS' television team won in newscast, continuing coverage, writing and investigative reporting.

In the network radio division, NPR tied CBS with three awards, including excellence in innovation, feature reporting and continuing coverage. In network television, CNN matched CBS with five awards, including breaking news, hard news, news series, excellence in social media and excellence in video.

The Washington Post won five awards in the large digital news organization division, including continuing coverage, excellence in social media, writing, hard news and investigative reporting. The New York Times won the award for overall excellence. Among small digital news organizations, The Texas Tribune won four awards, for continuing coverage, excellence in social media, investigative reporting and overall excellence.

In large market radio, WNYC and WTOP each took home two awards. WNYC won for excellence in innovation and hard news. WTOP won for website and overall excellence.

In small market radio, New Hampshire Public Radio earned three awards for feature reporting, news series and overall excellence. In large market television, KXAS-TV was the top local winner with four awards, including breaking news, excellence in sound, investigative reporting and overall excellence. KCCI-TV won three awards in small market television, for continuing coverage, writing and hard news. WWBT-TV won for overall excellence.To receive an Overall Excellence award, a news organization must exemplify the highest standards in serving its audience through quality electronic journalism.

Overall Excellence award winners in 2017 are:
  • CBS News, New York, NY (Network Television)
  • CBS Radio News, New York, NY (Network Radio)
  • The New York Times, New York, NY (Large Digital News Organization)
  • The Texas Tribune, Austin, TX (Small Digital News Organization)
  • KXAS-TV, Fort Worth, TX (Large Market Television)
  • WWBT-TV, Richmond, VA (Small Market Television)
  • WTOP-FM, Washington, DC (Large Market Radio)
  • New Hampshire Public Radio, Concord, NH (Small Market Radio)
Presenters for the event at New York's Gotham Hall, which drew a crowd of more than 400 people, included CNN's Brian Stelter, NPR's Sonari Glinton, ABC News Radio's Alex Stone and Scott Goldberg, Steve Kathan of CBS Radio News, NBC's Kate Snow, Bianna Golodryga from CBS News and RTDNA Chair Scott Libin.

A complete list of winners with links to the winning entries, along with complete coverage of the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala can be found at rtdnaedwardrmurrowawards.org.
For more updates, follow @RTDNA on Twitter and the hashtag #Murrow

RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. Founded as a grassroots organization in 1946, RTDNA works to protect the rights of electronic journalists throughout the country, promotes ethical standards in the industry, provides members with training and education and honors outstanding work in the profession through the Edward R. Murrow Awards.


Protect Journalists