2020 RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Celebration

RTDNA recognizes service to association, foundation

September 27, 2018 11:30

The RTDNA Board of Directors and RTDNF Trustees on Thursday looked back at a year of growth and change and honored three of their own for service to the organizations.

At the annual membership meeting at Excellence in Journalism, Executive Director Dan Shelley and Association Chair Scott Libin provided an update to members on the achievements of the association since EIJ17 one year ago.

Col. Barney Oldfield Distinguished Service Award 
The Oldfield Award is presented in memory of the founder of the Radio Television Digital News Association. It was presented by Vince Duffy, Foundation Chair on behalf of RTDNA Board and RTDNF Trustees for exceptional service to the Foundation to Kathy Walker, RTDNF Secretary/Treasurer and News Director at KOA-AM in Denver, Colorado. With nearly 15 years of Board service, Walker has shepherded the creation of the RTDNF Endowment Fund and the Barney Oldfield Circle with, said Duffy, “a long commitment to both the association and foundation with a work ethic that never stops.”
Bob Priddy Award
The Priddy Award is presented in recognition of board members who embody the distinguished and consistent service to RTDNA exemplified by Bob Priddy’s more than 27-year tenure as a board member. It was presented for 2018 by Scott Libin, RTDNA Chair, Andrew Vrees, Region 10 Director and Vice President, News, Hearst. Libin said of Vrees’ more than 10 years of service, “As a major-market news director, as a corporate news executive and just as a journalist, he has forged important ties between our organization and influential industry leaders.”

Rob Downey Citation
Named for the first executive secretary of RTDNA, the Rob Downey Citation recognizes exceptional service to the RTDNA board of directors. Presented by Scott Libin, RTDNA Chair, this year’s award recipient is a longtime member of the Association, a former Chairman of the Board and most recently served as Foundation Secretary/Treasurer before becoming Executive Director in 2017. Dan Shelley earned the recognition for his leadership and outspoken defense of the First Amendment and responsible journalism on behalf of RTDNA and its Voice of the First Amendment Task Force.

At the business meeting, formal nominations were also heard for open positions on the Board of Directors. Online voting for those seats is open at RTDNA.org/election through Saturday, September 29 at 10 a.m. EDT, and results will be announced live at 1:30pm EDT at the closing business meeting.

At the close of the conference on Saturday, outgoing RTDNA Chair (and incoming RTDNF Chair) Scott Libin, per the Association bylaws, will be granted an Honorary Life Membership for his service as Chair.

Foundation Chair Vince Duffy, News Director, Michigan Radio, whose more than 10 years of board service comes to an end at the close of EIJ18, will receive a dedicated service award in recognition for his leadership, which included two three-year leadership cycles.


September Sweeps

2019 Research