RTDNA to honor Lesley Stahl

May 19, 2015 11:00

RTDNA has announced the winner of the 2015 Paul White Award, which recognizes a lifetime of achievement and service to the profession of electronic journalism: Lesley Stahl of CBS News 60 Minutes.

“Lesley Stahl has been a true leading light of broadcasting for more than 40 years," said Amy Tardif, Chair of RTDNA. “From Watergate to warplanes and from Gorbachev to Guantanamo Bay, her reporting has delivered the world to our doorsteps.”

”As a world-class reporter, Lesley Stahl sets a remarkably high bar,” added Mike Cavender, Executive Director of RTDNA. “Throughout her career, her work has inspired countless journalists to strive for excellence.”

The award will be presented on Saturday, September 19 at 5:00pm ET at Excellence in Journalism 2015, at the Orlando World Center Marriott in Orlando, Florida. The ceremony will be followed by a reception.

About Lesley Stahl
One of America’s most recognized and experienced broadcast journalists, Lesley Stahl’s career has been marked by political scoops, surprising features and award-winning foreign reporting.  She has been a 60 Minutes correspondent since March 1991; the 2014-‘15 season marks her 24th on the broadcast. 

Stahl’s series on Guantanamo Bay, in which she gained unprecedented access to the controversial prison facilities, was honored with an Edward R. Murrow award in 2014. In the same year she won two Emmys, her tenth and 11th, one for the Guantanamo series and another for an eye-opening story about China’s huge real estate bubble. She has also been honored with a duPont-Columbia Silver Baton for her piece, “Punishing Saddam,” which exposed the plight of Iraqi citizens, mostly children, suffering the effects of the United Nations sanctions against Iraq.

Prior to joining 60 MINUTES, Stahl served as CBS News White House correspondent – the first woman to hold that job – during the Carter and Reagan presidencies and part of the term of George H. W. Bush.  Her reports appeared frequently on the CBS Evening News, first with Walter Cronkite, then with Dan Rather, and on other CBS News broadcasts. During much of that time, she also served as moderator of Face The Nation.

In 1996, Stahl was awarded the Fred Friendly First Amendment Award, given by Quinnipiac College in Hamden, Conn., in recognition of her journalistic achievements.  She and the 60 Minutes team were also honored that year by RTDNA with an Edward R. Murrow Award for Overall Excellence in Television.  In 1990, she was honored with the Dennis Kauff Journalism Award for lifetime achievement in the news profession.

About the Paul White Award
RTDNA established the Paul White Award in 1956 to honor the broadcast news pioneer who served as the first news director at CBS. The award recognizes an individual’s lifetime contribution to electronic journalism. Past Paul White recipients include Chris Wallace, Linda Ellerbee, Steve Kroft, Christiane Amanpour, Charles Gibson, Tom Brokaw, Dan Rather, Peter Jennings, Bob Schieffer, Ted Koppel, Pauline Frederick and Edward R. Murrow.

RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTDNA represents local and network journalists in broadcasting, cable and digital media in more than 30 countries.


2021 Events