RTDNF announces Lee Thornton Scholarship endowment

May 11, 2016 05:00

RTDNF is proud to announce the creation of the Lee Thornton Journalism Scholarship. Thornton's estate has pledged $50,000 to endow a scholarship in her name.

Lee Thornton was the first African-American woman to cover the White House for a major news network (CBS) and the first African-American host of All Things Considered on National Public Radio. Later in her career, she taught at the University of Maryland's Philip Merrill College of Journalism and served a year as the school's interim dean. She held a master’s degree from Michigan State University and a doctorate in mass communications from Northwestern University.

"We are delighted to have the opportunity to honor Lee Thornton and help journalism students reach their potential," said Amy Tardif, RTDNF Chair. "She was a trailblazing journalist and beloved educator who will be long remembered."

"She was a broadcasting pioneer who inspired so many who came after her," added Mike Cavender, RTDNF Executive Director. "We are pleased to be able to carry her legacy into the future."

Beginning in 2017, a scholarship will be awarded annually to an undergraduate journalism student; one of a dozen scholarships and fellowships administered by RTDNF each year. The application process for the Foundation's currently offered scholarships is under way now. More information and application details can be found on our scholarship information page.
RTDNF, a 501 (c) 3 educational foundation, was created to help RTDNA members embody and uphold the standards of ethical journalism and promote leadership in the newsroom. RTDNF offers the electronic news community professional development opportunities, an open forum for the discussion of ethics, assistance with the development of leadership skills, support of First Amendment issues and the exchange of ideas and perspectives from electronic journalists worldwide. The Foundation also provides scholarships and fellowships to aspiring and early-career electronic journalists.


2021 Events