RTDNF names 2020 Prato Scholar

September 9, 2020 12:00

The Radio Television Digital News Foundation today named Haley Jordan Begay the 2020 Lou and Carole Prato Sports Reporting Scholarship recipient. 

Haley Jordan is a senior graduating this December from Indiana University Bloomington. She majors in Sports Broadcast Journalism and Spanish and plans to become a sideline reporter. Jordan currently has two internships, one with the IU Newsroom as a print reporter and one as a sports reporter at WISH-TV Indianapolis.
To get to know Haley, we askd, Who is a journalist you most look up to? She said:
I admire Sage Steele and have met her twice! While I was Miss Indiana in 2017, she was a co-emcee at Miss America where I got to chat with her and snap a quick picture. As an IU alumna, Sage came to the Media School to visit where she walked up to me and said, "hey, I remember you!" I love everything about Sage from her vibrant on-air personality to her interviews with all the pro athletes. 

About the Lou and Carole Prato Sports Reporting Scholarship
Louis F. Prato has dedicated more than 30 years to RTDNA and RTDNF. Lou served as secretary of the RTDNF Board of Trustees, and for more than 20 years he was treasurer of the RTDNA Board of Directors. Lou has worked as a sports broadcaster, news director, a journalism professor. Lou and his wife Carole live near his alma mater, Penn State University. He is the author of several books on Penn State football, including The Penn State Football Encyclopedia, and was Director of the Penn State All Sports Museum.  

The scholarship was established in 2001 in recognition of Lou’s service to RTDNA and RTDNF and his commitment to excellence in journalism. It is awarded to a journalism student who brings Lou's journalism values to covering sports.

Recipients of the Lou and Carole Prato Sports Reporting Scholarship receive $1,000.

About RTDNF Scholarships and Fellowships
The 2020 scholarship and fellowship class is RTDNF’s 50th class of scholars and fellows. Since 1970, RTDNF has awarded more than $1 million in scholarships and fellowships to more than 500 young journalists as part of its mission as the educational arm of RTDNA. Recipients have gone on enjoy careers from reporter, anchor, and news director to White House speechwriter, media regulatory attorney, and journalism educator. Several have served as RTDNA board members and many are Murrow Award winners. Make a difference for the next generation of journalists today.


2021 Events