RTDNF names 2020 Simpson Scholars

September 2, 2020 11:00

The Radio Television Digital News Foundation today named Micah Wilson of the University of Central Oklahoma a Carole Simpson Scholarship recipient for 2020.

Thanks to Carole's generosity and commitment to aspiring journalists, this is the second Simpson Scholarships to be awarded this year. Raven Yamamoto of Loyola Marymount University will also recive an award.

Micah Wilson is a senior at the University of Central Oklahoma majoring in professional media, focusing on broadcast journalism. He is a native of Oklahoma City and a proud resident of his neighborhood, the Creek. At the UCO Micah anchors, reports, and does weathercast for the school live newscast, he is also the founding president of his university's chapter of NABJ (National Association of Black Journalists.) Micah loves sharing stories of communities that are often left untold.
To get to know Micah, we asked, Who is a journalist you most look up to? He said:
My favorite quote is "Don't trade your authenticity for approval." It is something that I live by, a quote that one of my favorite journalists Demetria Obilor displays each newscast. Like Carole Simpson, in my opinion Demetria Obilor is a pioneer for Black Americans and women. Despite criticism from many on appearance and amongst other things she continues to remain true to herself. I find that many times people of color feel the need to "code switch" when we are on air, however, Demitria remains true to herself relating to her community. Always being an advocate and using her platform to share and uplift voices of her community, I plan to do the same.
About the Carole Simpson Scholarship
Carole Simpson is a former RTDNF trustee and the 1996 recipient of the Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment Award in recognition of her work to protect First Amendment Freedoms. She established the Carole Simpson Scholarship in 1991 to encourage and help minority students to overcome hurdles along their career path in electronic journalism. In a career of notable firsts, Carole Simpson has led the way for minorities and women in broadcasting. After beginning her career as a journalism educator, she went on to break barriers and raise social issues as a journalist. Simpson was the first woman to broadcast news in Chicago, the first African American woman to anchor a network TV evening newscast, and the first woman and first minority to solo moderate a presidential debate. She retired from ABC News in 2006 to become Distinguished Journalist in the School of Communications at Emerson College in Boston. Her memoir, NewsLady, was published in 2010.

Recipients of the Carole Simpson Scholarship receive $2,000. 
About RTDNF Scholarships and Fellowships
The 2020 scholarship and fellowship class is RTDNF’s 50th class of scholars and fellows. Since 1970, RTDNF has awarded more than $1 million in scholarships and fellowships to more than 500 young journalists as part of its mission as the educational arm of RTDNA. Recipients have gone on enjoy careers from reporter, anchor, and news director to White House speechwriter, media regulatory attorney, and journalism educator. Several have served as RTDNA board members and many are Murrow Award winners. Make a difference for the next generation of journalists today.