RTDNF to honor Tom Brokaw

March 7, 2016 01:30

RTDNF will hold the 26th annual First Amendment Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, March 16 at the Grand Hyatt, 1000 H Street NW in Washington, DC. Among the honorees will be:

RTDNF Lifetime Achievement Award: Tom Brokaw, NBC News

Tom Brokaw served as anchor and managing editor of NBC Nightly News from 1983 through 2004, and has continued as a special correspondent for the network ever since.

His career began at local stations in Sioux City, Iowa; Omaha, Nebraska and Atlanta, before joining NBC in Los Angeles as a reporter and anchor in 1966. He joined the network's Washington bureau and was NBC's White House correspondent during Watergate. He was anchor of NBC News Today from 1976-1982. He covered the major party political conventions from the floor in 1976 and 1980, later anchoring the network's campaign coverage and moderating debates in 1987 and 1991.

Among the many awards he and NBC received during his tenure are the Alfred I. DuPont Award, the George Foster Peabody Award, multiple Emmy Awards and multiple Edward R. Murrow Awards. He also holds honorary degress from the University of South Dakota, Washington University, Syracuse University, Hofstra University, Boston College, Emerson College, Simpson College, Duke University, and Notre Dame University.

Other honorees include The Washington Post's Jason Rezaian, CBS' Cami McCormick, NPR's Robert Garcia, E.W. Scripps' Rich Boehne, and the University of Missouri's Tim Tai. The event will also honor Virginia journalists Alison Parker and Adam Ward. For more information on the event, see our event page. To purchase tickets, tables or sponsorships, click on the links below.

To learn more about the honorees, read the complete announcement.

Follow @RTDNA and tweet using the hashtag #RTDNFirst



2021 Events