Time running out to apply for RTDNF scholarships

June 26, 2017 01:30

This year's final deadline to apply for RTDNF scholarships and fellowships is June 30, 2017. College journalism students and young professional journalists are urged to apply now, to ensure consideration for the coming year.

Several prestigious scholarships are offered for students pursuing careers in digital or broadcast media, including the $10,000 Ed Bradley Scholarship for undergraduates, in honor of the pioneering journalist and CBS News and 60 Minutes correspondent. Fellowships for aspiring journalists in the first 10 years of their careers are available for national security and health beat reporters, as well as to minority journalists.

New this year is the Lee Thornton Scholarship, named for the pioneering CBS and NPR correspondent. The winner will receive a $2000 award, along with an invitation to the Excellence in Journalism conference. Scholarship winners will also be invited to attend the RTDNF First Amendment Awards Dinner in Washington.

These awards are supported by endowments from a number of RTDNF’s good friends and supporters. They believe the future of electronic journalism is best assured through the strong training and education of those beginning their careers in our business. If you’re a student or young professional, or know someone who is, take a little time to check out these programs and apply. It's easy to apply using our online application portal. Be sure to read our frequently asked questions, our tips for each section of the application, and review the application checklist. To help students prepare to apply, look at examples of the work being done by our most recent scholarship recipients.

To learn more, visit our scholarships and fellowships page to find complete details. You’ll find scholarships for California students, Texas students, sports reporting students, minority students and others. And you’ll meet some of our winners and hear what receiving an RTDNF scholarship means to them. Scholarship and fellowship winners will be announced in December.


Protect Journalists