Winners: 2015 National Edward R. Murrow Awards

June 24, 2015 11:00

CLICK HERE for the full list of national winners.

RTDNA has announced the winners of the 2015 National Edward R. Murrow Awards, which recognize outstanding work produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.

"From investigations that probe the issues that divide us, to features that highlight what can unite us, our winners are truly the best of the best," said RTDNA Chair Amy Tardif. "Their work demonstrates the dedication and perseverance that exemplify the highest standards of journalism excellence."

This year, RTDNA awarded 104 national Edward R. Murrow Awards in 13 categories including Feature Reporting, Hard News, Overall Excellence and more. RTDNA received more than 4,200 entries during the 2015 awards season, setting an all-time record for the third year in a row.

For the second year in a row, ABC News Radio and ABC News (television) both won the Edward R. Murrow Award for Overall Excellence at the network level. ABC's radio team also won awards for Breaking News, Sports Reporting and Writing.

In the network television division, CBS News earned seven Murrow Awards in 2015 – for Breaking News, Continuing Coverage, News Series, Newscast, Use of Video, Writing and Best Website. NBC News TODAY won for Hard News and Sports Reporting in the network television division. Al Jazeera America took the award for News Documentary, while CNN won for Investigative Reporting and ESPN won for Feature Reporting. 

In the network radio division, National Public Radio took home awards for Hard News, Use of Sound and Investigative Reporting. CBS Radio News won three awards in the same division: Continuing Coverage, Feature Reporting and Newscast. State of the Re:Union repeated as the winner of the News Documentary award. And Serial won the Edward R. Murrow Award for News Series.

The Denver Post won the Overall Excellence Award in the large online news organization division as well as awards for News Series and Sports Reporting. In the same division, The Washington Post won three awards: Investigative Reporting, Feature Reporting and Writing. The New York Times won two awards: Breaking News and Continuing Coverage. Four newsrooms round out the category: The Bay Area News Group - News Documentary, Voactiv - Hard News, The Des Moines Register - Use of Video, and The Detroit Free Press was a repeat winner for Best Website.

Three newsrooms got double wins this year. In the Small Market Radio division, WGLT-FM, the NPR affiliate at Illinois State University in Normal, IL won for both News Series and Investigative Reporting for its entry Police and Race in the Twin Cities: A WGLT News Investigative 5-part Series. In the Large Market Radio division, KIRO-FM in Seattle won for Sports Reporting and Use of Sound for its entry Something Special. And in the Large Market Television division, KXAS-TV (in partnership with the Dallas Morning News) won for News Series and Investigative Reporting for its entry Injured Heroes.

"The Edward R. Murrow Awards shine a light on the outstanding work being done in newsrooms every day," said RTDNA Executive Director Mike Cavender. "Each year, the winners raise the bar and inspire their fellow journalists to tell great stories."

To receive an Overall Excellence award, a news organization must exemplify the highest standards in serving its audience through quality electronic journalism. 

Overall Excellence award winners in 2015 are:
  • ABC News, New York (Network Television)
  • ABC News Radio, New York (Network Radio)
  • The Denver Post, Denver (Large Online News Organization)
  • Free Press Media, Burlington, VT (Small Online News Organization)
  • KING-TV, Seattle (Large Market Television)
  • KETV-TV, Omaha, NE (Small Market Television)
  • WCBS, New York (Large Market Radio)
  • New Hampshire Public Radio, Concord, NH (Small Market Radio)

The winners will be recognized at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York City on October 12. Click here to purchase tickets to this signature event.

A complete list of winners with links to the winning entries for the 2015 National Edward R. Murrow Awards can be found on our national winners page. Details about the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala, including trophy, ticket and sponsorship information is available at