RTDNA has announced the winners of the 2018 Student Edward R. Murrow Awards. The awards, presented in five categories, recognize outstanding work by student journalists.

The winners are:

Excellence in Audio NewscastCarolina Connection – April 8, 2017
University of North Carolina School of Media and Journalism
The April 8th edition of Carolina Connection, the student-run radio newscast. This well-rounded presentation painted a picture taking the listener to the places discussed.

Excellence in Audio ReportingBob Hurley’s Biggest Game
James Corrigan, WFUV Public Radio from Fordham University
Legendary basketball coach Bob Hurley is facing perhaps his biggest challenge, and it is not on the court. This is a captivating story told with spot-on delivery and a talent for storytelling.

Excellence in Digital ReportingTroubled Water
Carnegie-Knight News 21
“Troubled Water” is an investigation into drinking water contamination in communities across the country produced by students in the Carnegie-Knight News21 investigative program. An amazingly well-told, thorough examination of a serious problem.

Excellence in Video NewscastAnnenberg TV News – October 2, 2017
USC Annenberg Media
In the wake of a mass shooting in Las Vegas, an active shooter scare rattles students on USC's campus, and we talk to a spiritual leader about how to deal with chaos on campus and beyond. This newscast explained the backstory of a breaking news event, delivered informative eyewitness reaction and provided actionable information for the student audience.

Excellence in Video ReportingIn My Backyard
Zach Putnam, University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication
What does it take for a neighborhood to invite 14 homeless women to move in? Two short documentary videos anchor this multimedia feature about the creation of a village of tiny houses for homeless women in a residential neighborhood in Portland, Oregon. A powerfully told story, personal and stunning visually with deep research.

The winners will be recognized at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York City on October 22 along with the winners of the 2018 National Edward R. Murrow Awards.