Carole Simpson Scholarship

RTDNF is no longer accepting applications for the 2022 scholarship. Please check back later for information on the 2023 program.

Carole Simpson is a former RTDNF trustee and the 1996 recipient of the Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment Award in recognition of her work to protect First Amendment Freedoms. She established the Carole Simpson Scholarship in 1991 to encourage and help minority students to overcome hurdles along their career path in electronic journalism. In a career of notable firsts, Carole Simpson has led the way for minorities and women in broadcasting. After beginning her career as a journalism educator, she went on to break barriers and raise social issues as a journalist. Simpson was the first woman to broadcast news in Chicago, the first African American woman to anchor a network TV evening newscast, and the first woman and first minority to solo moderate a presidential debate. She retired from ABC News in 2006 to become Distinguished Journalist in the School of Communications at Emerson College in Boston. Her memoir, NewsLady, was published in 2010.

The recipient of the Carole Simpson Scholarship will receive $2,000 and an invitation to the RTDNA conference.
  • Students who will be sophomores, juniors or seniors at the time the scholarship is awarded, pursuing careers in radio, television, or digital journalism
  • Winners must be officially enrolled, full-time sophomores or above in good standing when scholarships are awarded in September 2022
  • Students may apply for only one RTDNF scholarship, and past RTDNF scholarship winners are not eligible.
  • Complete the online application form, including:
    • Contact information
    • Experience
    • URL links to 3-5 work samples
      • Work samples should be broadcast (television/radio) or online news pieces
      • Work samples should be uploaded to a host site like YouTube, Vimeo, SoundCloud, etc.
  • Upload the supplemental materials:
    • Cover letter
      • Discuss your current and past journalism experience
      • Describe how you intend to use the funds
      • Discuss your choice to pursue a career in journalism
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee
    • Resume
    • Letter of recommendation
      • From a professor, advisor, or supervisor
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee


Congratulations to the 2021 Simpson Scholar, Tamia Fowlkes!
2020 Micah Wilson University of Central Oklahoma
2020 Raven Yamamoto Loyola Marymount University
2019 Tony Betton, Jr. Georgia State University
2018 Donovan Harris University of Georgia
2017 Stephanie Rodriguez Illinois State University
2016 Kayla Parker Florida A&M University
2015 Ruben Garcia University of Oregon
2014 Nathalie Dortonne University of Florida
2013  Imani Crenshaw  Hampton University
2012 Dakarai Turner DePaul University  
2011 Paule Machado   University of Central Florida
2010 Gardenia Coleman   Arizona state University
2009 Lina Washington Arizona State
2008 Brandon Lewis University of Missouri
2007 Chamise Jones Virginia Commonwealth University
2006 Jeffrey Preval Hofstra University
2005 Damon Maloney Columbia College
2004 Alexis Hunt Indiana University
2003 Deanna Garcia New Mexico State
2002 Alexandra Harold Eastern Illinois University
2001 Lanaea Parker Louisiana State
1999 Vicky D. Nguyen University of San Francisco
1998 Holly Harris Louisiana State University
1997 Zaneta T. Lee University of Alabama
1996 Ingkeua “Klare” Ly University of Missouri
1995 Hope Lorraine Bartlett Northwestern University
1994 Arun Khosla University of Illinois
1993 Lourdes Alcaniz University of Southern California
1992 Drakeel Burns Ohio University



Frequently asked questions
Application tips and checklist


CONTACT: If you have questions about scholarships and fellowships, please contact Kate McGarrity.