Ed Bradley Scholarship

RTDNF is no longer accepting applications for the 2022 scholarship. Please check back later for information on the 2023 program.

Ed Bradley is best known for his award-winning work in 26 years on CBS News’ 60 Minutes and as the first African American White House TV correspondent. Bradley received the Paul White Award from RTDNA in 2000 recognizing his lifetime commitment to excellence in journalism and the First Amendment Award from RTDNF in 2005 in recognition of his support of First Amendment rights. He passed away in 2006.

Bradley established the Ed Bradley Scholarship in 1994. Since then, 20 young, aspiring journalists of color have received the award created by the late CBS News and 60 Minutes correspondent. Past winners have gone on to work for organizations including NPR, CNN, and Al-Jazeera America. They have enjoyed careers from reporter, anchor, and media attorney to Saturday Night Live comedy writer and White House speechwriter.

The recipient of the Ed Bradley Scholarship will receive $10,000 and an invitation to the RTDNA conference.‚Äč
  • Students who will be sophomores, juniors or seniors at the time the scholarship is awarded, pursuing careers in radio, television, or digital journalism
  • Winners must be officially enrolled, full-time sophomores or above in good standing when scholarships are awarded in September 2022
  • Students may apply for only one RTDNF scholarship, and past RTDNF scholarship winners are not eligible.
  • Complete the online application form, including:
    • Contact information
    • Experience
    • URL links to 3-5 work samples
      • Work samples should be broadcast (television/radio) or online news pieces
      • Work samples should be uploaded to a host site like YouTube, Vimeo, SoundCloud, etc.
  • Upload the supplemental materials:
    • Cover letter
      • Discuss your current and past journalism experience
      • Describe how you intend to use the funds
      • Discuss your choice to pursue a career in journalism
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee
    • Resume
    • Letter of recommendation
      • From a professor, advisor, or supervisor
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee


Congratulations to the 2021 Bradley Scholar, Maya Brown!
2020 East Dockery North Carolina A&T State University
2019 Lauren Granada Emerson College
2018 Brittany Brown University of Mississippi
2017 Brea Hollingsworth Florida A&M
2016 Shaynah Ferreira Emerson College
2015 Daion Morton Indiana University
2014 Aaron Maybin Marquette University
2013 Taylor Moore  University of South Dakota
2012 Jacey Sisneros   Pepperdine University
2011 Emanuele Berry   Michigan State University
  Reema Khrais, Honorable Mention University of North Carolina
2010 Lance Frank Louisiana State University
2009 John Ketchum   Central Michigan University
2008 Brandon Richard University of Central Oklahoma
2007 Jennifer Borget Brigham Young University
2006 Jacqueline E. Cutler University of Maryland
2005 Belia Mayeno Saavedra Hunter College
2004 LaKendra Tookes University of Florida
2003 Jonathan Michael Martin Auburn University
2002 Esther You American University
2001 Rodney Dunigan Tougaloo College
2000 Joel Brown Howard University
1999 Aneesh Raman Harvard University
1998 Bernad Choi University of Missouri
1997 Nicole Gomez Ohio University
1996 Nischelle Turner University of Kentucky
1994 Tisha Thi University of Missouri



Frequently asked questions
Application tips and checklist


CONTACT: If you have questions about scholarships and fellowships, please contact Kate McGarrity.