RTDNF Journalism Fellowships

Our 2022 fellowship application deadline has passed. Please check back later in the year for details about our 2023 program. 

N.S. Bienstock Fellowship
An award established in 1999 by Richard Leibner and Carole Cooper, the original owners of N.S. Bienstock. Acquired by United Talent Agency in 2014, the firm now known as Bienstock, a UTA Company has been a leading talent agency in news and reality-based programming for more than 50 years and is a long-time member of RTDNA. This award recognizes a promising minority journalist in radio, television or digital news.

In addition to the $2,500 award, winners are invited to attend the RTDNA conference.

Congratulations to the 2021 Bienstock Fellow, Shamarria Morrison!

Michele Clark Fellowship
RTDNF's first fellowship is named for Michele Clark, the CBS News correspondent who was killed in a plane crash while on assignment in 1972. This fellowship is awarded to a young, promising minority professional in television, radio or digital news.

In addition to the $1,000 award, winners of the Michele Clark Fellowships are invited to attend the RTDNA conference.

Congratulations to the 2021 Michele Clark Fellow, Andrea Perdomo!

Vada and Col. Barney Oldfield National Security Reporting Fellowship
Established by the RTDNF Board of Trustees in honor of Vada and Col. Barney Oldfield. Barney and Vada served in WWII and both had illustrious military careers. Barney's long and impressive career included a stint as a Hollywood studio publicist, WWII Army and post-war Air Force public relations officer, author, and lecturer. Col. Oldfield was also a businessman and philanthropist who founded over 40 private foundations including RTDNF. This fellowship is awarded to a reporter or producer in radio, television or digital news engaged covering national defense and security

In addition to the $1,000 award, winners are invited to attend the RTDNA conference.

Congratulations to the 2020 Oldfield Fellow!

Jacque I. Minnotte Health Reporting Fellowship
This award was created to honor former news director and Medstar executive Jacque Minnotte, who died in 1993. This fellowship recognizes excellence in health or medical television, radio and digital reporting.

In addition to the $2,000 award, winners of the Jacque I. Minnotte Health Reporting Fellowship are invited to attend the RTDNA conference.

Fellowship applications are accepted in the fall and awarded in May. 

Congratulations to the 2021 Jacque I. Minnotte Fellow, Cecilia Hernandez-Cromwell!



  • Professional broadcast or digital journalists with fewer than 10 years of experience.
  • Journalists may apply for only one RTDNF fellowship
  • Past RTDNF fellows are not eligible.
  • Complete the online application form, including:
    • Contact information
    • Experience
    • URL links to 3-5 work samples
      • Work samples should be broadcast (television/radio) or online news pieces
      • Work samples should be uploaded to a host site like YouTube, Vimeo, SoundCloud, etc.
  • Upload the supplemental materials:
    • Cover letter
      • Discuss your current and past journalism experience
      • Describe how you intend to use the funds
      • Discuss your choice to pursue a career in journalism
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee
    • Resume
    • Letter of recommendation
      • From a professor, advisor, or supervisor
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee


2019 Stephanie Serrano KUNR Public Radio N.S. Bienstock
  Tiffany Liou WFAA-TV Michele Clark
  Anh Nguyen Gray KUNR Public Radio Minnotte
  Beverly Banks Medill School of Journalism Barney Oldfield
2018 Jessica Meszaros WGCU Public Media N.S. Bienstock
  David Pierce University of Illinois Michele Clark
  Isabella Gomes Johns Hopkins University Jacque Minnotte
2017 Jacob Faber 1st Infantry Division - U.S. Army Barney Oldfield
  Quincy Walters WGCU Public Media N.S. Bienstock
  CB Cotton WITN-TV Michele Clark
2016 Melina Tupa UC Berkeley N.S. Bienstock
  Chernéy Amhara KVUU-TV Michele Clark
  Nadine Sebai AJ+ Jacque Minnotte
  Liberty Zabala NBC 7 San Diego Barney Oldfield
2015 Niha Masih Columbia University N.S. Bienstock
  LaCrai Mitchell Florida A&M University Michele Clark
  Veronica Zaragovia KUT Radio Jacque Minnotte
2014 Angela Chen KTRK-TV N.S. Bienstock
  Crystal Clark WTOL-TV Michele Clark
  Erika Beras WESA-FM Jacque Minnotte
2013 Patricia Guerra Columbia University N.S. Bienstock
  Chanteé Lans WPRI-TV/WNAC-TV Michele Clark
2012 Alexis Morgan Columbia University N.S. Bienstock
  Rosa Flores CNN Michele Clark
  Lara Salahi ABC News/Boston Globe Jacque Minnotte
2011 Anayansi Diaz-Cortes Freelance- public radio N.S. Bienstock
  Ashley Singh Fox43 Michele Clark
  Euna Lhee WMFE-FM Jacque Minnotte
2010 Emilia Askari University of Michigan N.S. Bienstock
  Ko Im WBOC-TV Michele Clark
  Sabriya Rice CNN Jacque Minnotte
  Jamie Mannion AFN Korea Barney Oldfield
2009 Tina Martin WFSB Jacque Minnotte
  Ana Allen AFN Barney Oldfield
2008 Hatzel Alejandro Vela WCSC-TV N.S. Bienstock
  Lila Merideth APTV Michele Clark
2007 Michaelene Tetteh WAFF-TV N.S. Bienstock
  Gene Kang WSJV-TV Michele Clark
  Elizabeth Wooley WICS-TV Jacque Minnotte
  Raymond Flores Soldiers Radio & Television Barney Oldfield


Frequently asked questions
Application tips and checklist


CONTACT: If you have questions about scholarships and fellowships, please contact us.


Resources like this are made possible by donors like you to the Radio Television Digital News Foundation.
Click on the button below to make your donation today:

FederalTax ID: 38-186009