George Foreman Scholarship

RTDNF is no longer accepting applications for the 2022 scholarship. Please check back later for information on the 2023 program.

George Foreman is a boxing champion, Olympic gold medal winner and celebrated pitchman. As a young man, he was inspired by President Lyndon Johnson and by RTDNF founder Barney Oldfield. In his autobiography By George, Foreman credits LBJ's Job Corps for rescuing him "from the gutter." While attending the Job Cops program, he met Barney Oldfield, who was one of the program’s sponsors and became Foreman’s mentor. Foreman thanks Oldfield "for a lifetime of friendship, devotion, counsel, and wisdom. The world would be a far better place if everyone were lucky enough to have a friend like you."

Awarded to a student from the University of Texas at Austin, the George Foreman Tribute to Lyndon B. Johnson recipient will receive $6,000 and an invitation to the RTDNA conference.

  • Must be attending the University of Texas at Austin
  • Students who will be sophomores, juniors or seniors at the time the scholarship is awarded, pursuing careers in radio, television, or digital journalism
  • Winners must be officially enrolled, full-time sophomores or above in good standing when scholarships are awarded in September 2022
  • Students may apply for only one RTDNF scholarship, and past RTDNF scholarship winners are not eligible.
  • Complete the online application form, including:
    • Contact information
    • Experience
    • URL links to 3-5 work samples
      • Work samples should be broadcast (television/radio) or online news pieces
      • Work samples should be uploaded to a host site like YouTube, Vimeo, SoundCloud, etc.
  • Upload the supplemental materials:
    • Cover letter
      • Discuss your current and past journalism experience
      • Describe how you intend to use the funds
      • Discuss your choice to pursue a career in journalism
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee
    • Resume
    • Letter of recommendation
      • From a professor, advisor, or supervisor
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee


Congratulations to the 2021 Foreman Scholar, Dominique Lavigne!
2020 Ashley Miznazi
University of Texas
2019 Jaewon Yoo
2018 Dani Matias
Ala'a Ibrahim  
2016 Avery Travis
2015 Hector Perez
2014 Alexandra Wilkins
2013  Christopher Adams
2012 Cathryn Walker
2011 Torrie Hardcastle
2010 Isaiah Rosario
2009 Xorje Olivares
2008 Emily Graves
2007 Crystal Hall
2006 Layron Livingston
2005 Hema Mullur
2004 Gabriel Gutierrez
2003 Mario Roldan
2002 Shamiso Maswoswe
2001 Laliana Velazquez
2000 Hipolito Gonzalez III
1999 Erin Kenyon
1998 Carlos Garcia



Frequently asked questions
Application tips and checklist


CONTACT: If you have questions about scholarships and fellowships, please contact Kate McGarrity.