Lou & Carole Prato Scholarship


Louis F. Prato has dedicated more than 30 years to RTDNA and RTDNF. Lou served as secretary of the RTDNF Board of Trustees, and for more than 20 years he was treasurer of the RTDNA Board of Directors. Lou has worked as a sports broadcaster, news director, a journalism professor. Lou and his wife Carole live near his alma mater, Penn State University. He is the author of several books on Penn State football, including The Penn State Football Encyclopedia, and was Director of the Penn State All Sports Museum.  

The scholarship was established in 2001 in recognition of Lou’s service to RTDNA and RTDNF and his commitment to excellence in journalism. It is awarded to a journalism student who brings Lou's journalism values to covering sports.

The recipient of the Lou and Carole Prato Sports Reporting Scholarship will receive $1,000 and an invitation to the RTDNA conference.
  • Students who will be sophomores, juniors or seniors at the time the scholarship is awarded, pursuing careers in radio, television, or digital journalism
  • Winners must be officially enrolled, full-time sophomores or above in good standing when scholarships are awarded in September 2021
  • Students may apply for only one RTDNF scholarship, and past RTDNF scholarship winners are not eligible.
  • Complete the online application form, including:
    • Contact information
    • Experience
    • URL links to 3-5 work samples
      • Work samples should be broadcast (television/radio) or online news pieces
      • Work samples should be uploaded to a host site like YouTube, Vimeo, SoundCloud, etc.
  • Upload the supplemental materials:
    • Cover letter
      • Discuss your current and past journalism experience
      • Describe how you intend to use the funds
      • Discuss your choice to pursue a career in journalism
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee
    • Resume
    • Letter of recommendation
      • From a professor, advisor, or supervisor
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee


Congratulations to the 2021 Prato Scholar, Kelsey Bigelow!
2020 Haley Jordan Begay Indiana University Bloomington
2019 Noah Gross University of Maryland
2018 Jack Kizer Ball State University
2017 Audrey Rodriguez University of Colorado Boulder
2016 Justin Holbrock Ohio University
2015 Nicole Barros Penn State University
2014 Alan Miller Brigham Young University
2013 Kristen Wolfe Salisbury University
2012 Katie Gillen University of Florida
2011 Jonah Javad University of Missouri
2010 Jacquelyn Adams Elon University
2000 Eric Hughey Central Missouri State
2009 James D. Foley Emerson College
2007 Carl Deffenbaugh Northwestern University
2006 Patric Sleightholm Sam Houston State University
2005 Scott McGowan Emerson College
2005 Justin Kircher Susquehanna University
2002 Kyle Edelen Western Kentucky University



Frequently asked questions
Application tips and checklist


CONTACT: If you have questions about scholarships and fellowships, please contact Kate McGarrity.