Mike Reynolds Scholarship

RTDNF is no longer accepting applications for the 2022 scholarship. Please check back later for information on the 2023 program. 

Mike Reynolds, who died in 1988 of a brain tumor at age 45, was assignment editor and then managing editor at KCCI-TV in Des Moines, IA. This scholarship is awarded to a journalism student with a good writing ability, excellent grades, a dedication to the news business, strong interest in pursuing a career in electronic journalism and a demonstrated need for financial assistance.
The recipient of the Mike Reynolds Scholarship will receive $1,000 and an invitation to the RTDNA conference.
  • Students who will be sophomores, juniors or seniors at the time the scholarship is awarded, pursuing careers in radio, television, or digital journalism
  • Winners must be officially enrolled, full-time sophomores or above in good standing when scholarships are awarded in September 2022
  • Students may apply for only one RTDNF scholarship, and past RTDNF scholarship winners are not eligible.
  • Complete the online application form, including:
    • Contact information
    • Experience
    • URL links to 3-5 work samples
      • Work samples should be broadcast (television/radio) or online news pieces
      • Work samples should be uploaded to a host site like YouTube, Vimeo, SoundCloud, etc.
  • Upload the supplemental materials:
    • Cover letter
      • Discuss your current and past journalism experience
      • Describe how you intend to use the funds
      • Discuss your choice to pursue a career in journalism
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee
    • Resume
    • Letter of recommendation
      • From a professor, advisor, or supervisor
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee


Congratulations to the 2021 Reynolds Scholar, Delaney Beaudoin!
2020 Isabella Barnet University of Florida
2019 Maya Huter Emerson College
2018 Jordan Elder Arizona State University
2017 Joshua Chapman University of Missouri
2016 Kristen Reeson University of Missouri
2015 Zack Newman University of Missouri
2014 Jennifer Tintner University of Florida
2013 Amanda Roley Washington State University
2012 Sarah Sax University of Southern California
2011 Jonathan Ketz University of Missouri
2008 Rebekah Jane Maxwell Drake University
2007 Lindsay McCoy Kent State University
2005 Vanessa Alonso University of Florida
2004 Mary Anne Bruister University of Alabama
2003 Ashleigh Leake Salt Lake City Community College
2002 Jamie Shaver Eastern Mennonite University



Frequently asked questions
Application tips and checklist


CONTACT: If you have questions about scholarships and fellowships, please contact Kate McGarrity.