Pete Wilson Scholarship

RTDNF is no longer accepting applications for the 2022 scholarship. Please check back later for information on the 2023 program.

The Pete Wilson Journalism Scholarship was established in 2007 to honor the late Pete Wilson, a San Francisco television and radio journalist. The scholarship is granted to a graduate journalism student from the San Francisco Bay area or attending a college or university in the Bay Area who shares Wilson's commitment to ethical, responsible journalism.  The Pete Wilson Scholarship is open to both undergraduates and graduate applicants. 

The recipient of the Pete Wilson Journalism Scholarship will receive $2,000 and an invitation to the RTDNA conference.
  • Must be from or studying in the San Francisco Bay area
  • Winners must be officially enrolled, full-time undergraduate or graduate students good standing when scholarships are awarded in September 2022
  • Students may apply for only one RTDNF scholarship, and past RTDNF scholarship winners are not eligible.
  • Complete the online application form, including:
    • Contact information
    • Experience
    • URL links to 3-5 work samples
      • Work samples should be broadcast (television/radio) or online news pieces
      • Work samples should be uploaded to a host site like YouTube, Vimeo, SoundCloud, etc.
  • Upload the supplemental materials:
    • Cover letter
      • Discuss your current and past journalism experience
      • Describe how you intend to use the funds
      • Discuss your choice to pursue a career in journalism
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee
    • Resume
    • Letter of recommendation
      • From a professor, advisor, or supervisor
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee


Congratulations to the 2021 Wilson Scholar, Noah Baustin!
2020 Michaela Vatcheva University of California- Berkeley
2019 Ricky Rodas University of California- Berkeley
2018 Nuria Marquez Martinez University of California- Berkeley
2017 Benjamin Din Northwestern University
2016 Danielle Parenteau Decker University of California- Berkeley
2015 Max Darrow Syracuse University
2014 Kevin Hume University of California- Berkeley
2013  Talia Samelian San Francisco State University
2012 Casey Capachi University of California- Berkeley
  Summer Dashe Southern Methodist University  
2011 Jessica Savage San Jose State University
  Roberto Daza University of California- Berkeley
2010 Alyssa Fetini Arizona State University
2009 Mandana Mofidi City University London
2008 Molly Snyder Fink University of California- Berkeley



Frequently asked questions
Application tips and checklist


CONTACT: If you have questions about scholarships and fellowships, please contact Kate McGarrity.