Presidents Scholarship

Two awards are given each year in honor of former RTDNA Presidents Theodore Koop, Bruce Dennis, James McCulla, John Salisbury, Bruce Palmer, Dick Cheverton, Jim Byron, Ben Chatfield and John Hogan. 

The recipients of the Presidents Scholarship will each receive $2,500 and an invitation to the RTDNA conference.
  • Students who will be sophomores, juniors or seniors at the time the scholarship is awarded, pursuing careers in radio, television, or digital journalism
  • Winners must be officially enrolled, full-time sophomores or above in good standing when scholarships are awarded in September 2021
  • Students may apply for only one RTDNF scholarship, and past RTDNF scholarship winners are not eligible.
  • Complete the online application form, including:
    • Contact information
    • Experience
    • URL links to 3-5 work samples
      • Work samples should be broadcast (television/radio) or online news pieces
      • Work samples should be uploaded to a host site like YouTube, Vimeo, SoundCloud, etc.
  • Upload the supplemental materials:
    • Cover letter
      • Discuss your current and past journalism experience
      • Describe how you intend to use the funds
      • Discuss your choice to pursue a career in journalism
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee
    • Resume
    • Letter of recommendation
      • From a professor, advisor, or supervisor
      • Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee


Congratulations to the 2021 Presidents Scholar, Daniel Han!

2020 Devin Brooks Western Illinois University
2019 Hanin Najjar University of Southern California
  Annabel Thorpe University of Missouri
2018 Samantha Avalos Emerson College
  Kari Jakobsen Washington State University
2017 Nora Faris University of Missouri
  Miranda Suarez Boston University
2016 Thomas Garris Ithaca College
  Lauren Holt Emerson College
2015 Emily Schweich University of Maryland
  Jenna Middaugh University of Missouri
2014 Brett Hall University of Maryland
  Brooke Sassman Rutgers University
2013 Jason Puckett Elon University
  Shannan Ferry  Hofstra University
2012  Brandon Goldner University of Maryland  
  Joe Bruno Elon University 
2011 Samantha Baranowski Elon University
  Sarah Phinney Ball State University
2010 Abbey Niezgoda Emerson College
  Monica Yantosh Elon University
2009 Jennifer Rizzi Bucknell
  John Santucci Hofstra
2008 Kimberly Saltmarsh Hofstra
  Sarah Hollenbeck University of Missouri
2007 Adam Rhew UNC Chapel Hill
  Adam Shivers University of Alabama
2006 Thomas Hendrick University of Colorado
  Lauren Williamson University of North Texas



Frequently asked questions
Application tips and checklist


CONTACT: If you have questions about scholarships and fellowships, please contact Kate McGarrity.