Edward R. Murrow Awards


Since 1971, RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards

Murrow’s pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession.

Regional winners for 2014 were announced in April. National winners were announced in June.


Previous Winners:

2014 - National | Regional
2013 - National | Regional
2012 - National | Regional
2011 - National | Regional
2010 - National | Regional
2009 - National | Regional

The 2013 awards ceremony was held in New York City. Click here for complete coverage of the event. Photos from the event are available here.

Entry Requirements:

Click here for rules and entry requirements


Winners receive an Edward R. Murrow Award trophy. Awards are presented to news organizations, not individuals. Winning entrants will be invited to join RTDNA at our annual awards dinner and show at the New York Marriott Marquis in New York City on October 6, 2014.

Contest Duration:

The 2014 contest entry period has closed. New entries for the 2015 contest will open in December.

For any questions about the Edward R. Murrow Awards, please email Katie Switchenko at katies@rtdna.org